Got my new MBP 2.8 But; Dust on the Screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Habusho, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Habusho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #1
    Ok, so after waiting like 10 days to get my brand spankin new MBP 2.8Ghz with 320GB 7200 RPM HD, I load it up and it seemed to have a dead pixel in the middle of the screen. I happen to have a 10X magnifier and, it's a speck of dust. It's annoying as hell. Apple offered to replace it which is good but, I guess that would take another week or so to get it. The Apple stores don't stock this do they? Any recommendations?
     
  2. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #3
    Because this is brand new, Apple should offer to do an advanced replacement for you.

    They may ask you for a credit card again, but I have had them replace new Macs for me without the credit card. Just ask nicely.
     
  4. Habusho thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #4
    I got off the phone with Apple and they're saying that there is no such thing as an advanced replacement or a waiver form... Wtf.
     
  5. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    PM the person in the other thread and ask him to email you the form then fax it to apple to prove there is...
     
  6. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #6
    Ask to speak to a senior support specialist. The person who answers the phone is only 1st level support.

    Apple does have forms for advanced replacement. It does require you to sign and fax them back before they will initiate the replacement. They are not forms you can just download. They have to come directly from the person you will eventually end up speaking with.
     
  7. Habusho thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #7
    So, now they're saying the advanced replacement isn't available for DOA product. Only for Customer Replacements CRE. Is this true?
     
  8. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #8
    I'm not sure how Apple would classify your machine or your case for that matter. DOA can mean something different to different people.

    All I'm saying is that Apple does have an advanced replacement policy. I've personally taken advantage of it. It has always been a PIA, if for nothing else, just going through the motions of having to replace your brand new machine that you spent lots of money for
     
  9. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #9
    Another thing you could do is to take it into an Apple retail store and show them what's going on with it. They would probably replace it for you. Not sure if your close to one or not.

    My apology. I see yours is a CTO build. You won't be able to have it exchanged at an Apple store.
     
  10. pcorrado macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  11. Habusho thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #11
    Well, spoke to customer care too and they definitely won't do an advanced replacement. They say advanced replacement are for people that have had their machines repaired numerous times. DOA machines are treated differently. Apple stores don't stock my machine it's BTO so that's out of the question too. I guess I gotta wait another week for a replacement.
     
  12. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #12
    I hear you pain. I guess times are changing. I did have Applecare on the machine that was eventually replaced for me. I was working directly with someone in the Applecare dept.

    On the flip side of this though, Apple will make it right for you.
     
  13. shoppy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Hants
    #13
    I have emailed you the waiver form as per your request by email, i hope it all works out. Also you can have an apple store order you a BTO machine whilst holding on to yours.
     
  14. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Waaaaaaa!!! Waaaaaaaaa!!! ..........:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  15. aussie.damo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #15
    Wow, that was a really insightful posting. Do you have a blog so I can keep updated with all of your musings?

    (hunting for the you're a loser emoticon)
     
  16. iViking macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #16
    That is true. They did an advance replacement for me some years ago but only after I had returned it about three times for various failures.
     
  17. shoppy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Hants
    #17
    The original poster from the other thread that I emailed the waiver too, has a new BTO order machine coming to him. Whilst he retains the original. So hopefully you will get the same resolution. All the best.:)

    Simon
     

Share This Page