GPS Data Insufficient and Other GPS Signal Troubles?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by phantom5251, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. phantom5251 macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Recently grabbed Navigon, and it seems like I keep continuously getting the "GPS Data Insufficient" message. I do have the phone outside, no protective covers and it is sunny out. I tried Navigon's recommendation of doing the complete restore, and at first it seemed like that worked yesterday, but now today there is nothing. I've tried restoring the network settings and resetting the location warnings. I'm just curious if people have any other tips, or had similar issues? Does this seem to be recurring with Navigon or is TomTom having similar issues? Thank you all! Google Maps seems to get a lock easily, but I know they also use the triangulation technique too.
     
  2. Tunnelrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
  3. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    Hmm...perhaps I did the restore wrong? I did try to follow Navigon's instructions on their site. You select Erase All Content and Settings and then wait for the phone to do it's thing and connect to iTunes, correct?
     
  4. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #4
    Don't know if doing it that way is any different than originating the restore from iTunes. Maybe try originating the restore in iTunes?

    Most everyone I've seen post here with the problems you are having that earnestly follow the steps on Navigon's website usually come back and say that the issue was resolved.

    Do you have any other app that accesses the GPS chip? Any problems with those?

    Maybe see how MotionX GPS lite works (it's free), and see if it has any problems.

    HTH.
     
  5. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Hmmm, maybe when I get home tonight, I'll try doing the restore from iTunes. I had followed the steps listed on Navigon's site, so that's kind of why I was wondering. It seems like Navigon is really outdoing TT in the reviews, so that's ultimately why I went with them. But I guess that's why I was wondering if people with TT were experiencing anything similar?
     
  6. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    I have both... TomTom & Navigon and they both have GPS Signal problems when I'm at home. But they automatically work when i go outside and stand in the middle of the road. It seams to me that it's not the app's fault... it's the iPhone itself... iPhone needs to see the sky... iPhone hate aluminum cases.
     
  7. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Navigon works fine for me. In my house, it takes a couple seconds to get a signal. Outside, I never see that red "simulation mode" bar. (3GS)
     
  8. Tunnelrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #8
    I have both as well -- as well as Sygic, G-Map, Gokivo, and ATT Navigator, but I only have this problem with Navigon (in clear sight of the sky). It doesn't happen all the time, but it does happen.
     
  9. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Which GPS app is more responsive to you?
     
  10. Tunnelrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #10
    I need a little more specifics on the question, Pika. Are you talking about getting the initial lock, sustaining the GPS signal throughout, etc?
     
  11. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    The one that detect the GPS signal faster.
     
  12. Tunnelrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #12
    Well, keeping this question confined to TomTom and Navigon, clearly (in my daily use) TomTom gets the signal faster.

    On the flipside though - once Navigon gets the signal, it scrolls and tracks much smoother than TomTom; I have noticed that TomTom suffers from occassional lagging/dragging when making turns...that's the kind of thing I would only expect from GPS apps that stream live data over the air - ie: Telenav, Gokivo - not a GPS app that has the maps preloaded on the device.

    Like all GPS apps, TomTom and Navigon both have their strengths and weaknesses...
     
  13. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #13
    I have no problems with Navigon. I did find I had to take my case off during cloudy days. Then it works not a problem.
     
  14. Nyan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #14
    If you own TomTom & Navigon (Superior GPS apps) then why you need Sygic, G-Map, iGo, Roadee... (Inferior GPS apps) ?
     
  15. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    For those whom Navigon has worked for, did you have to do the restore that's recommended on their site at all? Did you have to restore your phone as a new phone or restore from the back up at first? I'm thinking maybe where I went wrong was that I did not restore it as a new phone. There's a thread over on the Apple support boards, where people were having all sorts of trouble with their GPS signal after upgrading to 3.0.
     
  16. Tunnelrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #16
    1) I'm a GPS/Nav. geek. ;)

    2) Not everyone would agree with what you consider the "superior" and "inferior" GPS apps. EX: There are users who would say Sygic is "superior" to both TomTom and Navigon. While others swear by Co-Pilot or IGO, etc. It's all a matter of opinion and personal use.
     
  17. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #17
    It's always better to do a clean restore as a new phone, uncheck "Automatically sync all applications" and install Navigon first manually.
     
  18. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    Me too i agree.

    The reason i've chosen TomTom & Navigon only is because:

    - TomTom owns TeleAtlas. Google had signed a 5 year deal with Tele Atlas to provide digital maps for various Google applications. Google Earth, and the Google Maps API had previously used Tele Atlas data, so the deal wasn’t a big deal by itself. However, I noticed today that at least in the areas of the USA I’ve checked, Google is now also using Tele Atlas data for the Google Maps website (maps.google.com) that previously used NAVTEQ data.

    - Navigon use NAVTEQ. NAVTEQ is a US based company, while TeleAtlas is based in Europe. So while NAVTEQ is definately the better choice for North America, TeleAtlas is better for Europe. Garmin and Magellan are using NAVTEQ, so clearly Magellan and Garmin have made a decision that the extra money for NAVTEQ is worth it. In my own testing, I found TeleAtlas mapping data was less accurate than NAVTEQ on several occasions.

    - TomTom & Navigon make their hardware & software. The rest (Sygic, iGo, G-Map...) only make the software.
     
  19. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #19
    Is it recommended to do the clean restore as a new phone by connecting my phone to iTunes first? Or do the Erase All Content and Settings on the phone directly first as instructed by Navigon? Thanks! I forgot to add that I have recently noticed since I have upgraded to 3.0 and subsequently 3.0.1 I no longer get the pulsating blue dot in Google Maps. Perhaps this may have something to do with it?
     
  20. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #20
    You need to connect your iphone to your mac with itunes open and click "Restore"... then it will ask you if you want to set as a new phone... then you say yes... then make sure you uncheck "Automatically sync all applications".

    You need to delete everything as when the first day you got it and start all over for better result.
     
  21. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    Okay, thank you very much! I will try it tonight, and will let you guys know of the results. If worse comes to worse, I have an appt. with the Genius Bar on Wednesday anyway for a MacBook repair :)
     
  22. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #22
    So this morning I did the new phone reset, and then if I recall did the reset network settings and reset location warnings, just to be on the safe side. Sure enough, I got the pulsing blue dot on Maps, so I thought this was a good sign, because I didn't get that before. So eventually I got around to reinstalling my apps including MotionGPS, which lo and behold latched onto a signal which it had yet to do before. Finally, Navigon got reinstalled, and sure enough we have turn by turn! So really do wonder if this had something to do with the 3.0/3.0.1 updates for phones that might have had the 2.2.1 version before? Granted later today it got cloudier, so it had more trouble latching on to a signal, but after a bit, it did. Hopefully it stays this way!
     
  23. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #23
    Good to know it's resolved.

    I doubt you'll have any more issues.

    I've had Navigon installed since 7/23. It was a brand new 3GS at the time, I just did a restore to the last backup I had of my 3G when I got home from the Apple Store, then installed Navigon. The only issues I've seen with the GPS signal on my iPhone, is dependent on the case I'm using at the time. The Speck Candyshell seems to exacerbate the GPS signal lock on issue for me. I've also got a Switcheasy Capsule NEO, and sometimes see the issue for locking on the GPS signal.
     
  24. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    Yeah, hopefully that'll be the case for me as well. Amazingly my phone still manages to pick up a signal with the case on. Currently waiting on a windshield mount now :)
     
  25. phantom5251 thread starter macrumors 6502

    phantom5251

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #25
    So tonight, with a perfectly clear sky, it won't hold a signal. Any suggestions about keeping and maintaining a signal? Or just keep resetting network settings and location warnings?
     

Share This Page