GPS Inaccurate! Hardware or Software?!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thisisarcadia, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. thisisarcadia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #1
    Lately my 3G GPS has been really crappy! The app will open fast and pinpoint my location fast but it won't be where i really am. It is usually 2-5 miles off course. Could this do anything with a faulty chip or reception interference? Or could it have to do anything with software? It is really bugging me because i use maps a lot but not lately since this is always a problem, im on 3G not edge or gprs! Thanks!
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
  3. thisisarcadia thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #3
    how do you do that?! just reset location services?
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    No, there's a process to do it. There's a thread on here about it, but I don't remember the exact steps, since I've not had the issue. If you can't find it, I'll look for it and report back. Let me know.
     
  5. weeman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #5
    There are numerous threads on this and it has been concluded that it is the 3.0 software update that screwed up the GPS...here's to hoping 3.0.1 will fix it!
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    You can try this (originally posted by nimda0), it might fix it:

    - Go to settings, general, auto-lock, change it from 1 Minute to NEVER
    - Go to settings, general, reset, reset network settings (THIS WILL REBOOT YOUR IPHONE)
    - Go outside, in a clear place with NO tree's, buildings, or anything blocking your view of the sky
    - Open "MAPS", click NO on all that wi-fi crap, then click the little gps icon, and let it sync up with the satellites (this could take a few minutes)
     
  7. Que macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    3.0 hasn't affected my gps. surely the software isn't selective about which phones it wants to screw up.

    it is strange i admit, but i think blaming 3.0 point blank is a bit much.
     
  8. thisisarcadia thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #8
    thank you i will try that!
     
  9. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #9
    Make sure you post back if it works.
     
  10. weeman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #10
    Yeah, I was skeptical at first until my friend that installed 3.0 complained that his GPS was a good 100-150 meters off and to prove his point he installed 2.2.1 and the GPS was spot on...
     
  11. thisisarcadia thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #11
    will doing this delete the tethering hack i have installed? since it returns all my network settings to factory default?
     
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    Since I haven't done any of the hacks, I can't be totally sure, but it does sound like it will delete the hack. You could just re-do the hack afterwards, correct?
     
  13. thisisarcadia thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #13
    yea true but its a long process ha!
     

Share This Page