GPS malfunction?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ARK, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. ARK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    My wife's phone doesn't seem to get a correct lock on it's location in the standard maps app. It's either off by 10 blocks or its off by a block. Usually it will just have the blue circle around it like its trying to zero in our position but never does. It never locks our position and "throbs" with the blue halo around the blue dot. I can have my phone right next to hers and mine will show the correct location but hers won't. I've tried Navigon with her phone and it just acts like the GPS is inactive and turns red. Does this sound like a malfunctioning GPS chip?
     
  2. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #2
    Is her iPhone in a case? Is location services turned on in the settings?
     
  3. ARK thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    She does have a silicone case but I had it off an on trying to see if it worked without it. Yes, location services were turned on.
     
  4. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #4
    Is this the 2nd Gen iPhone (iphone 3G)

    Mine did that back in june. It would only get a GPS via wifi and cell tower which we all no is not very accurate. Several restores did not work so I was luckily enough to get mine swapped in a apple store..

    Good luck sorting yours
     
  5. ARK thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  6. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #6
    I would personally book in with an apple Genius if you have an apple store close and get them to sort it out.

    When this happened to me I was just amazed how good the apple chap was. He could not do much as he could not leave the store to test it but took my word for it and swapped it on the spot.
     

Share This Page