GPS on Wi-Fi Model?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ugp, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #1
    Does the Wi-Fi have GPS? Because it gives me my exact address in the maps application when I am at home and the exact address when I am at my parents... I thought ok it's the internet connection location thing but then I drove down the road and it gave me my exact location on the road. Granted when I got any further Maps couldn't load anything due to no connection to the internet but it still placed me on the map.

    I just thought only the 3G had actual GPS like the iPhone does.
     
  2. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #2
    It has pseudo GPS like the original iPhone. It uses known cell towers to triangulation approx location. The 3G model has true GPS which uses satellite to get your exact location.
     
  3. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #3
    Does it use your internet IP to get your actual address? My iPhone does not give me my actual address just an approx. when I am inside the house. I was shocked by it.
     
  4. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #4
    No it doesn't have GPS, it uses your wifi to get an approximate address. It can be pretty accurate.
     
  5. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #5
    If that was the case how did it place me driving down the road not near a Wi-Fi spot? That is what confused me. Guy above mention Cellular placement. This makes more sense now.
     
  6. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #6
    There's nothing cellular in the wifi model. It's only getting it from the wifi.
     
  7. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #8
    The iPad doesn't use cell towers. It doesn't have any cell radio in it. It uses Skyhook and known WiFi access points.
     
  8. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #9
    So Skyhook knows my Wi-Fi?
     
  9. peestandingup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #10
    That's what I'm wondering. I live in an all residential subdivision & it pinpoints me down to my street & the next street over, damn close.

    How is it doing this?
     
  10. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
    Skyhook's database knows not only where your router is most likely but the others around you. Using triangulation and signal strength it can tell where you are pretty accurately as long as people haven't moved recently and taken their routers with them. ;)
     
  11. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #12
    Gps won't much good unless they make an iPad navigation app
     
  12. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #13
    I bet it has something to do with Chloe O'brien.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Mark Booth macrumors 65816

    Mark Booth

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #14
    I have absolutely ZERO intention of using my iPad with a navigation app (such as TomTom). But I WILL be using my iPad with the Geocaching app. It's not a navigation app. It's more like a find buried treasure app. And a built-in GPS is a very necessary bit of hardware for the Geocaching app.

    There are lots of apps that aren't "navigation apps" that take advantage of location services. So, the correct way to word your comment is:

    "A WiFi-only iPad won't be much good for any app that needs location services!"

    Mark
     
  14. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #15
    I wifi one does find yout location based on wifi is pretty accurate. Either way, it might be useful for what you want to do
     
  15. Mark Booth macrumors 65816

    Mark Booth

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #16
    Agreed! If you want to find your way from your front yard to your backyard, the WiFi-only model is useful!

    Mark
     
  16. spectre51 macrumors 6502

    spectre51

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #17
    ROFL. That explains it.
     
  17. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #18
    The location service on the iPad is far, far better than the iPod touch. So much so that there is definitely something else going on behind the scenes, imo. I don't think it has GPS but I do think it is using the compass in a very clever way to make the locator more accurate.

    If you think about the world as a map (for simplicity sake) and then you put a mark on the magnetic north pole (obviously a known fixed position) and tell someone the exact compass direction that another, unknown, point is from the north pole you could draw a line across the map where the unknown point must lie.

    Now, if you then combine the long/lat of some know nearby points, and distance from those points (wifi location from Skyhook) and/or IP geolocation information, you can get a good idea of about where you are located. Look and see where your compass line intersects all of that other information and you can get an even more precise location.

    This of course would hinge on the magnometer being really sensitive, but there's no reason to think it's not, I guess. I'm not saying that Apple is doing this, but just that they COULD use this to get the sort of location fix I am seeing on my iPad without GPS.

    Either way, the wifi model is definitely going to be useful for location based services like finding restaurants and theatres and things like that.
     
  18. Mark Booth macrumors 65816

    Mark Booth

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #19
    As long as you have an internet connection when you are looking for those restaurants and theaters, I agree.

    Mark
     
  19. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #20
    Yes should have clarified that. I use my cell as a mobile wifi access point so I don't think about it NOT having data service all the time.
     

Share This Page