GPU Choice

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jazzer15, Dec 12, 2015.

1. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

Well, I think I'm sneaking up on my iMac purchase (I may order today) ;). I'm pretty sure I am going to go with a 27 inch i7 w/512GB SSD. The last piece of the puzzle is graphics. I am a photo hobbyist but am not a gamer and am not heavily into video (just an occasional iMovie). I do tend to keep my computers for quite a long time, but I still assume there is no good reason for me to move up to the 395x from the 395. Do most of you agree with that or have a different point of view?

2. igucl macrumors 6502a

igucl

I'm in the same dilemma at the moment. Really tempted by the Skylake-updated 27-inch. But I don't know anything about the AMD R9's, or how they compare to each other. Does anyone know if there are benchmark comparisons between them?

3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

You likely don't need to upgrade the GPU, however if you want to future proof it then get the GPU upgrade. The upgrade cost spread out over 4-6 years of use is almost nothing.

4. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

You'll likely have absolutely no need for the upgraded GPU, so I would save the money and spent them on SSD or RAM.

5. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

Is there really anything one can really do to "future proof"? It is rather difficult to know what will be needed 5 or 6 years from now. However, i guess buying more than one needs is a bit of insurance -- provided the other components last.

And, with regard to longevity, would the 395x run hotter than the 395 on an ongoing basis (i.e., even if not pushed?). That might be a reason to go with a 395 if the upgrade isn't really needed now.

6. v.i.p.e.r macrumors newbie

I went for the 395 last week...

Because:
    - the 10-15% more power wouldn't change a game from unplayable to playable now and in the future.

7. santaliqueur macrumors 6502a