GPU question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thesk1llerz, May 7, 2011.

  1. thesk1llerz macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #1
    Hey everyone,
    How many GPUs can one theoretically fit in a MP with modification, while still running under OS X?

    I know the question sounds a bit stupid, but I would really like to know.
    Thanks for all replies in advance.


    ~ Sk1llz
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    I know it will take a pair of 5770's but they don't SLI - it just helps with multiple monitors.
     
  3. thesk1llerz thread starter macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #3
    I know that as well, I would like to know how many GPUs the MP could theoretically use, while running under OS X, even if it is incredibly expensive or un-practical.

    ~Sk1llz
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Four if they're all GT 120s. There aren't any more PCIe slots, so 4 is the limit.
     
  5. thesk1llerz thread starter macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #5
    Ok thank you that was exactly what i was thinking...
    just one other question could one use 4 5870's and just use another power source?
    Thanks for the replies =]

    ~sk1llz
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    That will not fit. I don't believe even 2 5870s will fit.
     
  7. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    2 will fit.


    Bottom slot is two slots high.

    Second slot allows double-slot-height-card, blocking the third slot.

    Fourth slot is single slot height, being blocked further by hard drives. Removing them allows for a third double slot card.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Won't you be sacrificing speed on slotting 4 cards? 2010's should be able to slot 2 @ 16x PCIe but 4 would be 4@ 4xPCIe? I have yet to slot anything so my utility is not working atm.
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Even if you could get the power, the 5870 is two slots high. Four won't fit in the machine unless you can bend the laws of space....
     
  10. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    well not really, you could get water cooled 5870 that are single slot :rolleyes:

    [​IMG]


    the most powerful GPU setup possible in the Mac pro would be 4x 6850 Single Slot edition though

    [​IMG]

    will even work in OSX with leaked drivers.
    providing up to 12 outputs...
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    Looks like a dual slot to me. :p
     
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #13
  13. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  14. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15
    :(

    I... I think I feel sick...
     

Share This Page