Resolved GPU will not wake from sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NOTNlCE, May 16, 2014.

  1. NOTNlCE, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014

    NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #1
    Alright, I've had this issue for a little while and I've gotten fed up enough to ask for help.

    A few weeks ago, I had my GTX 660 replaced via EVGA RMA, and since I've acquired the latest functioning GPU, I cannot seem to get it to wake from sleep under OS X. There is NO wake from sleep issue under Windoze, oddly enough. Of course, it's a PC card, I am running 10.9.3 on my 3,1 with the card in PCIe Slot 1.

    Attempts to Fix:

    - Updated to the Web Driver
    - Repaired System Permissions
    - Ran Maintenance Scripts
    - Moved Card to PCIe Slot 2
    - Switched Power Connector on Motherboard from 1 to 2

    All to no avail. Would appreciate any suggestions or help.

    Thanks as always,
    -N

    ~~~~~~~~~~

    Resolved. Bought another GTX 660, running two monitors off one, one off the other. No issues now. Weird.
     
  2. crjackson2134, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: May 16, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Do you have another GPU known to work that you can test with?

    Has this GPU model ever work properly with regards to sleep/wake functions or did you go for an upgrade and still trying to work out the kinks?

    I'm not quite clear on what you mean by "I've acquired the latest functioning GPU". Do you mean you replaced the 660 with another 660 or something else?
     
  3. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    I have never had this issue before with my previous two GTX 660s, or my Geforce 405, or my Radeon 2600 XT. In fact, my previous two 660s were flawless apart from the fact that they died on me.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Do you have one of those working cards around so that you can confirm that the problem only exists with this particular GPU, to eliminate the possibility that something else has changed?
     
  5. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #5
    I am still getting the issue with the 405, which makes me thing it's something with the NVIDIA settings/drivers/cache/etc.
     
  6. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    I would do a good backup of the current state, then using the 405 (assuming you have archived backups) restore back to a time when you didn't have the problem. If the issue goes away with the 405, then try the 660 card again. If the problem is gone when using the 660 with the older configuration , it shouldn't be o hard to track down the culprit.
     
  7. NOTNlCE, May 21, 2014
    Last edited: May 21, 2014

    NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #7
    No issue with the Geforce 405, but unfortunately, that's the only card I have access to at the moment. My Radeon is in my 1,1 at work and can't be borrowed for a bit. I would safely assume that it's a card issue, but this will be the 3rd 660 in my tower in a month. At this point, I've just been using my MacBook when I need a quick use, but having to shut down is a deterrent from using my Mac Pro at the moment. Any simple fixes from anyone out there?

    Thanks for the help.

    -N

    EDIT:

    Also having this issue under Windoze. Won't even sleep at all - displays go dark and fans stay on, can't wake displays back up.
     
  8. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #8
    Sorry for the delay, have been quite busy. This morning I installed a fresh install of 10.9.3 on a spare drive, same issue. Which means it's probably an issue with my GPU. I'm wondering if it's a universal issue now, or just in my 3,1... I guess the next step is to throw it in my Hackintosh and see if that will wake from sleep. Any thoughts?
     
  9. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #9
    I've had the same problem over the last few months and I NEVER experienced that before.

    I have to shut down every night. I bought a 680 from MacVideoCards guy...it's not a "blessed" card. I do get a boot screen but I suspect that my sleep issue relates the to the GPU.
     
  10. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #10
    Leave it to EVGA to RMA me ANOTHER faulty card. Same issue on my Hack. Sigh. Not even sure if it's worth getting it replaced, so much hassle.
     

Share This Page