grad school? (advice wanted)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by FredAkbar, Dec 24, 2007.

1. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

FredAkbar

Hi everyone. So in a nutshell, I'm not sure if I want to go to grad school or not. I'll give you the rundown on my situation and you guys can tell me what you think, as you're always so good at doing ;).

I'm a second-year undergrad at UCSB. Math major, maybe linguistics minor. No clue what I'm doing to do "when I grow up." I was near the top of my class in high school (4.4 weighted GPA), and am on a full 4-year scholarship (Regents) at UCSB, where I have a 3.86 GPA through 1 1/3 years (we're on the quarter system).

I was always planning to go to grad school, just as I always assumed I'd go to college; it was, academically, the right thing to do for me. But lately I've been having second thoughts. I know I have a few years to go, but I want to be thinking about it early so I can make the right choices if necessary.

First, there's the cost. I've been lucky (well, arguably it isn't luck but it sure feels like it) to have this full scholarship ($25k/year) at UCSB, and I don't think I'd be able to get as much financial aid for grad school. I know there is some out there, but it seems like I'd have to go into debt, or at least spend all the money that I'm saving up (from spare scholarship money, plus jobs) right now. I wouldn't have any family support (financially) as we are pretty poor. I hate the idea that all this money I'm saving up right now will just evaporate, or mean slightly less student loans. My grandpa (who taught at UC Davis) says they (for instance) fully financially support their grad students who need it and that I shouldn't be worrying about potential cost. Is this true?