Graduating, what stuff should I keep?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by stoid, Jul 22, 2007.

1. stoid macrumors 601

stoid

I'm finishing up a few summer courses to complete my bachelor's degree in a few days, and I realized that I have a paper box full of materials that were handouts and notes from my courses. Do I really need to hang on to all this stuff? What paperwork/notes should I keep, and what stuff can be pitched? I haven't really looked through the stuff, but partly because it is all so recent and mostly fresh in my mind that I haven't had to.

Thanks for your advice! :)

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Packrats are my worst enemy. I was with one for a very long time and pretty much developed those tendencies.
    As a graduate I had to determine what would be useful later on. The answer is, nothing. All I kept was my thesis because that was something I planned on building on later on and planned on using later on down the road. Everything else was dumped.
    I also have the same idea for my master's degree. However, everything that I intend on keeping will be scanned and saved in a pdf. Zipped and backed up. Less clutter that way.

3. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

adrianblaine

First of all, congrats on the graduating!

I think it depends a lot on what you studied vs. what you are actually going to do. I just finished my master's in architecture and will be working in an Architecture office, so 90% of my school work directly applies. I didn't really keep any homework, but kept all of my books and all of my projects. I'm much more likely to need my book from Environmental Tech II, but not the quiz I had to take... that kind of thing.

Basically, decide what you think you might need down the road, and toss the other junk, because that's what it is in the end...

4. furcalchick macrumors 68020

furcalchick