Graph in Numbers Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jensepollense, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. jensepollense macrumors regular

    jensepollense

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Tech/Blacksburg, VA
    #1
    Hey,

    so I have a Numbers spreadsheet with 5 columns. The first is time, in 5 sec intervals all the way down to 465. The next 4 columns are different temperature data that I want to plot all on the same graph. How do I construct a graph with the first column (sec) as the x-axis and the y-axis as temperature and then obviously all the data points on the graph accordingly? I tried playing around with it, but somehow never managed to get exactly what I wanted.

    Thanks
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Select your y-columns and then click the graph icon to select the type of graph that you want.
     
  3. jensepollense thread starter macrumors regular

    jensepollense

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Tech/Blacksburg, VA
    #3
    I tried doing that, but then my x-axis isn't what I want it to be. It's showing the right values on the y-axis but the x-axis is just labeled "Untitled 1"-"Untitled 93." How do I get the the time data onto the x-axis?
     
  4. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    The easy way :
    Select untitled on the numbers page and change each one to what you want.
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    Try using a Scatter plot rather than the line plots. I've found that's the only easy way to do this in Numbers ('08).
     
  6. BioCore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #6
    Hi, I'm using Numbers '09 the beta trial. I am a science student and as you can imagine I am trying out the new trend lines and error bars. So far the new version has everything I have been wanting in Numbers, and I might actually buy the full version. My problem though is the scatter plot graphs.

    I sometimes like the OP need to have multiple sets of data on the same graph with separate trend lines. I have tried everything I can think of to do this, but I can not make a scatter plot graph with two sets of data. Whenever I try something, my first column is treated as the X values and the second as y values. How can I change this please help!
     

Share This Page