Grapher domain & range issues

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DiMarc217, May 21, 2010.

  1. DiMarc217 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I'm doing a project that requires a lot of complicated shading in grapher (using inequalities). It would really help for me to be able to set the domain and/or range of the inequalities using an 'or' boolean statement. For example, I can do this:

    x>0 : y<x+3

    and I can use 'and' statements:

    x>0 & x<3 : y<x+3

    but I need to be able to do something like this:

    x<0 OR x>3 : y<x+3

    I know for this example I could just split it into two equations, but for the one I'm doing with multiple overlapping conditions, I need to be able to use an 'or' operator.

    Does anyone know how to do this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #2
    Grapher : boolean

    Hi,
    Menu Window/Equation palette/Symbols : the four last ones are -AND-OR-XOR-INFINITY.
    Attachment : a .gcx file with your inequalities, two ways for them.
    Does that solve your problem ?
    Be well, YB24
     

    Attached Files:

  3. DiMarc217 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
  4. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #4
    Grapher : boolean

    I forgot one boolean sign : The five last symbols on the equation palette are NOT-AND-OR-XOR (boolean)- infinity. YB24
     
  5. manwlou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #5
    love you!
     
  6. kanenas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #6
    Other options

    "|" is another symbol for the OR operator, though in Grapher v 2.0 typing "|" gets you the absolute value operator.

    For some cases, intervals can be used: "0≤x & x≤3" is equivalent to "x ∈ [0;3]" and "x<0 | 3<x" is equivalent to "x ∉ [0;3]".

    The Grapher guide on this very site lists these operators (including how to enter them) and many others.
     
  7. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #7
    Grapher boolean signs

    Hi !
    I can't use this sign in Grapher 2.1 as OR operator: I get every time the absolute value operator. May be there are some differences between french, english etc. keyboard. For what Grapher cases did you use this sign ?
    Is "this very site list" wrong ?
    Be well, YB24
     
  8. kanenas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #8
    As noted in previous post, "|" produces the absolute value operator since Grapher v2 came out. The Grapher guide hasn't been updated with this information. The guide needs quite a bit of work, which I hope will happen as more people become aware of it.
     
  9. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #9
    My own list of Grapher 2.1 keyboard shortcuts is in attachment. may be you'll find it useful.
    Be well, YB
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page