Grapher Need Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by B8ckwith, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. B8ckwith, Jan 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014

    B8ckwith macrumors newbie

    B8ckwith

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    O, Canada!
    #1
    Hello,

    I am taking a math class where we have to design a picture out of graphs by using any graphing app ( In my case it's Grapher)

    After I finished all my work I saved a file.(15.5mb) On the next day when I was trying to open my file... well, first my laptop run out of RAM... ( I have 13" Retina with 8Gb on board). Second time it's just frozen and later after doing force quit of Grapher all my icons were gone. Only reboot helps.

    I also attached what is going on in my activity monitor during that time.

    Can anybody help me to find the solution?

    I am sorry for my english, this is my second language.

    P.S. I did chat with apple support about it, they have no idea what is going on. The only thing they said that Grapher is used as a stress app for testing computers.

    P.S.S.I have an appointment at apple store on tuesday, hope they will help me.

    Thank you and Happy New Year!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    You did not run out of RAM. You are using a piecewise-defined function that has many pieces, the boundaries which are defined by your variables. From what I can see of it, certainly your function and probably its component parts are poorly constructed.

    You need to test each partial function individually before you can hope to get all of them to work together.
     
  3. B8ckwith, Jan 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014

    B8ckwith thread starter macrumors newbie

    B8ckwith

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    O, Canada!
    #3
    I don't really understand how are my functions poorly constructed?

    As an example my classmate is using exactly the same program, and he has more functions then I do, he did them exactly the same way as I did, in fact i was the one who fought him how to make functions on this program. The only difference is that he never closed his project and his mac has only 4gb of ram.


    Update: I just went to the apple store where I did try to open it on New Mac Pro, it took few minutes but I was able to open the project.
    So still the question why is it not working on MacBook...
     
  4. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #4
    Grapher GCX files

    Bonjour B8ckwith,
    A .gcx files of 15,9 MB seems to me enormous.
    1) You should try to reduce it using “Inspector“ after selecting one or several equations, then set the lowest “Resolution“ and uncheck “Nice Ends“ and “Continuous" (if there is no vertical lines in the graph).
    2) I don't know the equations of your Grapher work, so I can't try to solve your problem. After doing what is written above, save in a .gcx file, then compress it into a ZIP files and post it as attachment on MacRumors.
    You may also look at <http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/> use the manuals (French or English) on page “Documentation" and if necessary send an e-mail (address on last page of the website).
    Enjoy,
    YB24
     
  5. B8ckwith thread starter macrumors newbie

    B8ckwith

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    O, Canada!
    #5
    Hello YB24,

    The problem is that I can not even open the project. My macbook just runs out of memory. I went to the Apple store today to talk with the represantative about the problem. They have no idea what is going on. We did try to run on all retinas MacBooks which they had. None of them was able to load the project. So I left apple store with no solution.
    Meanwhile we tried to use air 13"(4gb), and it took less than a minute to open the project.
    There is defiantly bug on all retinas.

    ps here is the file for those who is interested in a problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #6
    Grapher : circle equations

    Hi !
    Marvellous plane drawn in Grapher with 137 equations. Congratutations !
    This huge file is opened easily in my iMac 21,5" OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks, Grapher 2.5 set in French. But it does not accept parametric equation here, question of English setting vs French one ?
    Circles : there are 5 equations of supposed circles, they are not drawing circles but ellipses. See attachement for two kinds of equations graphing circles.
    Perhaps you may have some problem when using this GCX files : decimal marks are comma instead of dots.
    Au revoir,
    YB24
     

    Attached Files:

  7. B8ckwith thread starter macrumors newbie

    B8ckwith

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    O, Canada!
    #7
    Thank you!

    Well I figured this out that it can be open trough the non-retina mcabook pro or iMac etc. But I am still confused why is it impossible to open on any retina macbook, some kind of software bug?

    And thank you for pointing on my mistakes about circles, I totally forgot about them. I am also used to a comma, but since I moved to Canada I am required to use dots. :)
     
  8. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #8
    Grapher : using point sets

    Bonjour B8ckwith,
    My brain works better after a full night.
    I guess that you start your plane picture by measuring abscissa and ordinate of 137 (more or less) points. You may have these points in some list (Numbers, Excel…) or on a sheet of paper.
    Do you remenber this child game : a lot of points on a sheet of paper, each point numbered from 1 to N ; then draw with a pencil lines from point 1 to point 2, 2 to 3, etc. to see the original drawing.
    Grapher can do that : enter the coordinates of each point in one or several point sets, Grapher draws the lines between point 1 to point 2, 2 to 3, etc. Using the Inspector you may remove the marks of points, keep only the lines between them, and choose straight lines or Bezier curves to link the points.
    I suppose that nearly 10 points sets will draw your plane : it's allowed to enter one point several times in a set, and to repeat the same line.
    There is an example on pages 35 & 36 on the manuals you may read and download on my website for Grapher.
    Opening your plane GCX files needs 60 seconds to see the drawing on my iMac.
    Enjoy,
    YB24
     
  9. YB24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Dordogne-France http://y.barois.free.fr/grapher/
    #9
    Grapher : point set

    Bonjour B8ckwith,
    I tried to draw the nose of your plane using one point set. In attachment red line with your 13 equations, the blue one with only 1 point set of 24 points.
    It was very easy to build the drawing.
    Enjoy,
    YB24
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page