grapher on leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dkknj, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. dkknj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #1
    I saw an article on grapher that mentioned it was part of OSX 10.4. I'm running OSX 10.5.6 and can't find grapher.

    Where is it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  3. dkknj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #3
    Hi Ron,

    Thanks. Duh, I should have looked there! My confusion was that I put "grapher" into spotlight and couldn't find the application there. If I put "grapher" into Finder, Grapher.app is immediately displayed.

    Is this a spotlight bug?

    Cheers!

    Dave
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Not a spotlight bug as far as I know, it pops up for me. Plus the Finder search is spotlight also...
     
  5. dkknj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #5
    Just found out why I found Grapher.app in Finder an not in spotlight: applications (spotlight preference #11) was off.

    Is off the spotlight default for the applications entry?

    Generally, one doesn't want to search inside an application's content. One only wants to search application names. This is why Finder may have been a better tool than spotlight.

    Are index files going to grow noticeably with applications turned on as a spotlight preference, which is why maybe they had been turned off?
     

Share This Page