Graphic Design 1st year, looking for a Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Missubaru, Jul 15, 2009.

1. Missubaru macrumors newbie

So yes, it's my exciting first year in Graphic Design this coming fall and I'm looking around for the Mac for me. Because I'm a student, I don't have much money and I've been working my butt off to pay for my education. My parents are not supporting me financially.
    I have been scouting around on Kijiji, Craigslist as well as my school's classifieds where there seem to be no Mac's that meet my needs specifically.

The problem is, I'm not sure what minimum requirements I'd need in order to support all the programs I'll be using without bogging down my computer. I am familiar with 2 of the 5 programs, illustrator and photoshop being the two I'm familiar with and the other 3 I'm not are, Indesign, Quark Xpress and Flash.
    I have settled on buying a Desktop, now all I need is help with all the complexities of ram, memory, video card, etc.
    Apple is selling refurbished desktops at resonable prices.
    I've scouted out this one, could anyone tell me if this is a good deal, and will it be able to support all my school work?

Overview & Product Details (2008 model, $1,549.00)

Model 24-inch iMac
    Processor 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    L2 Cache 6MB Shared
    Frontside bus 1066MHz
    Memory 2GB (two 1GB SO-DIMM) of 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM; supports up to 4GB
    Hard drive 320GB Serial ATA; 7200 rpm
    Optical drive Slot-loading 8x SuperDrive with 4x double-layer burning (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    Display 24-inch (viewable) glossy widescreen TFT active-matrix LCD, 1920 by 1200 pixels, millions of colors
    Video Built-in iSight; mini-DVI output port with support for DVI, VGA, S-video, and composite video connections via adapter
    Graphics ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB of GDDR3 memory
    FireWire One FireWire 400 port and one FireWire 800 port; 7 watts each