Graphic Design student buying MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ecelle, Jun 26, 2008.

1. Ecelle macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, Im planning on finishing my BA in Graphic Design and Im starting classes next month so I've been shopping for a mbp. I've never owned a Mac before so I'm pretty new to the whole scene(as far as purchasing one for myself) so I've been playing around with the features on the Apple store site and I've come to this:

MacBook Pro, 17-inch
    2.5GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    Backlit Keyboard (English) / User's Guide
    2GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    MacBook Pro 17-inch Hi-Resolution Glossy LED Widescreen Display(This is a must for me!) Price after taxes: $2877.23

my question to you pros would this be enough to meet my needs, or should I add 2GB more of Ram and opt instead for the 200GB Serial ATA drive @7200 RPM Hard Drive(price after taxes: $2,925.38)? I do plan on doing some 3d modelling along with Design and Illistration work. I'm really not trying to spend more than 3K on a notebook, so are the two models such a big difference performance wise considering what I plan on using it for? any advise would be great, i'm trying to save as much money as possible but not end up with an inferrior machine.

2. THX1139 macrumors 68000

THX1139

Sounds like a good machine, but what is your school recommending? Maybe you should find that out and go from there. Incidentally, you might want to reconsider the glossy screen since you will be dealing with color. Glossy look amazing, but matte is more accurate with color/contrast.

3. mtfield macrumors 6502