Graphic Design

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by jimmason, May 11, 2014.

1. jimmason macrumors newbie

Hi guys
    could anyone recommend a free program to design a logo, I am looking to start my own business and require something to help me create this.
    any help appreciated.

2. opeter macrumors 65816

opeter

3. jimmason thread starter macrumors newbie

4. citizenzen macrumors 65816

Are you a designer?

My spidey senses say 'no'.

I would not create my own logo ... unless I was a designer.

What kind of logo are you looking for?

5. beowulf70 macrumors regular

beowulf70

As Citizenzen has commented, I think you really need a someone rather than a something to help create your logo.

As a Design Director of a branding agency and Creative Director of my own design consultancy and I really cannot advocate the importance of brand for a start-up business strongly enough. You are going to require a little more than a logo if you want to your business to be successful.

Please let me know if you would like some more information. ;)

6. superscape macrumors 6502a

superscape

I'd agree with the other posters to a certain extent about not creating your own logo. The tendency is to create a logo that *you* like, and there's nothing wrong with that, but you're not the intended audience!

The purpose of the logo is to project an image of your company - just because you personally like a logo doesn't mean it's going to send the right message. For example, you might design a cool and funky logo: that might be great for a record label but if the business is a bank then customers might want to think of your business as dependable and reliable.