Graphic designer, MBP or iMac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jabz, Oct 19, 2008.

1. jabz macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I am a graphic designer and I have decided it is time to make the switch to mac.
    I just can't decide if I should go for the new macbook pro, or an iMac?
    Do you think the 17inch screen is big enough on the pro?
    Is it fast enough? Can I run multiple adobe programs, as well as other things without it lagging on me?

Any advice?

2. t4cgirl macrumors member

A great combination with no compromise is the 24" LCD display and the 15" MacBook Pro. If you're looking to save a bit of money, the Dell 24" high end (Ultrasharp) monitors are only about $5-600 depending on the day, and they're great.

IMO the best combo is a MBA for travel/cafes, and the home office an 8GB Mac Pro and two 30" LCDs.

A Mac Pro with 8GB of memory (that's a <$300 upgrade from NewEgg) is just fantastic for running multiple Adobe programs + Office + a browser with dozens of tabs. And you -will- notice the horsepower of the MP -- not that you push it to the limits, but that it just never blinks at rapidly switching between active, heavy-duty apps with complex tasks in progress.

That all said, the iMac or MBP alone would serve you well, too -- just make sure to visit NewEgg to get a memory upgrade to 4GB.

It's all a matter of how much $$ you're willing to spend on your work environment. Go for a setup that you can expand into and push yourself in, not one that constrains you and forces you to make the best of it.

3. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

bobr1952

I run several websites--and do it all from my home so I don't have a real need for a laptop. But I know I would seriously miss the 24 inch screen. It may not be such a big asset for coding but for photo and graphics editing, it is phenomenal. So I would go for the bigger screen advantage of the iMac.

4. tom burns macrumors member