Graphical Artifacting - Mac Mini 2011

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Pheo, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. Pheo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #1
    Hey All,

    Just hoping to get a few thoughts as to possible causes of this artifacting. Mainly experiencing it during Aperture or Final Cut Pro X, which I guess are my two highest load apps. I also occasionally had this issue with the latest version of CIV, I seem to remember.

    [​IMG]
    Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 22.47.02 by Pheo, on Flickr

    Do I have a dodgy graphics card?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Depending on the specific model of 2011 Mini you have, it may have integrated graphics that uses system memory instead of dedicated memory.

    Have you upgraded RAM recently?
     
  3. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3
    The link you supply for us to check out your problem just takes me to a "Yahoo" log in page, asking me to sign in.
     
  4. Pheo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #4
    Apologies left that info out!

    I have the model with the 6630 ATI graphics card (think that's the right model number)

    ----------

    Wrong default permissions on Flickr; now fixed so hopefully you can see an inline image and get thru to the full size photo.

    Basically I'm getting artifacting on apps which are in the background... Apps which are running in the foreground are unaffected
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    I have seen RAM cause graphical artifacts even on GPUs that have their own dedicated memory, but there is a good chance that something is going on with your GPU or the VRAM.
     
  6. Pheo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #6
    Thats what I feared.

    I have upgraded the ram on this machine, so I may swap it back out for the original temporarily and see if that solves it.

    Seems to happen only after a good few hours using the machine, so maybe heat related also.

    Sounds like its time for a trip to the apple store (dang, I'll have to take my SSD out, what a pain!)
     
  7. Darby67 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    the corner of Fire and Brimstone
    #7
    Do you have Applecare? If not, you are potentially out of warranty so I would leave it be.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    Try swapping the RAM back to stock first. It's probably the easiest troubleshooting step.
     
  9. Pheo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #9
    I have Applecare on the machine, so thats all good.

    Will try swapping out the RAM as its simple to do, and a good suggestion for the process of elimination!
     

Share This Page