Graphics card for 2006 Mac Pro Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chych, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. chych macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #1
    Note: I did try and search the forums, and there's a lot of info to wade through, but hopefully I can get a quick answer to this.

    I have a 2006 mac pro with an x1900xt, I'm looking to get another card to run in Bootcamp (Win 7 32bit) for games. I was looking at flashing a 4870 but it looks like it's more trouble than it's worth (I see a lot of dual monitor issues, for example, and I require dual monitors).

    What card should I get with minimum trouble such that I can use it in Bootcamp/Win7? I'll continue use the x1900xt for OS X. Looking for <$150, something like an ATI 4870 or 5750 (preferably without any additional special cables?).
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    There really aren't any options for <$150. And flashing isn't so bad – I've run dual monitors with my card, and it works fine. I have a 4890 though.
     
  3. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #3
    So it's really not possible to just drop in a PC 5750 and have it work in boot camp?

    What model/brand is your 4890?
     
  4. Stairway macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #4
    The PC card will work under Windows --- you only have to flash it if you want it to work under OSX as well.
     
  5. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #5
    Good enough for me! 5750s are cheap enough, have to just figure out how to get power to the card now...
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    For now though, 5xx0 cards do not work in 2006 Mac Pros. They require a 2008 or later. So he's still out of luck if he wants to use the card in OS X as well.

    I have an HIS 4890. It hasn't been available since late last year.

    To power the card, you need one of these.
     
  7. macMonte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #7
    I have the same Mac Pro and a 4870 that I flashed and works fine in Boot Camp. I did it as a stop gap for Starcraft 2 while I waited for the new mac pros. Would you like to buy it? I'm selling my old tower to a friend and he doesn't have a need for the card. Send me a private message, I have the extra power cable as well.
     
  8. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #8
    Can't seem to find the PM button on this forum... does both of your card's DVI outputs work in Mac OS X? I did just find a 4870 on craigslist for $100 locally though.
     
  9. macMonte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #9
    I'll have to check on the second dvi in osx. I get both in bootcamp. to be honest the 4870 makes makes osx run like garbage. you're better off keeping the x1900 for osx. I can't find the PM button either
     
  10. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #10
    If 4870 doesn't run well in OS X, then there's no point in flashing it!
     
  11. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #11
    That makes no sense, the 4870 is much faster than the X1900. My 4890 will run circles around your X1900 on any day on any test.

    chych: there's plenty of reasons to flash a 4870 – it will be faster than the X1900, no matter what.
     
  12. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #12
    I can also vouch for this. I had a x1900xt with my mac pro 1.1 aka 2006 model and ive gotten the 4890. Mine is the Sapphire one. The 1900xt is NOWHERE close to what the 4890 has to offer. not to mention 4870.

    On what premise do you base your claim that the 4870 is garbage under osx? because its a false accusation
     
  13. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #13
    Erm, I was responding to macMonte's last post. I think he may not have corrected the quartz extreme drivers or something like that, so he might have had OS X issues.

    Nevertheless I just picked up a Powercolor 4870 for $100 off craigslist, and found the ROM for it. Time to play!
     
  14. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #14
    Well I got my 4870, flashed it, and Mac OS X boots! Great! Except the card won't physically fit in the graphics card slot, there are protruding screws on the back that prevent it.

    Thus, expansion slot utility opens on startup, indicating that my card isn't at max speed. Does the card actually use the full 16 lanes? I could probably do something about the screws that are blocking on the card, but would rather not if there isn't a point...
     
  15. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    you can make it fit with some light force, but yes it will fit bad. I ran mine in the bottom slot for several months, and didnt have any sign of damage after that.

    yes it needs 16x PCIe 1.0 or will lose ~10-15% performance
     
  16. chych thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #16
    Ah shucks, guess I'll be getting fancy with a dremel to shorten the screw shaft, and put thin nuts. Lets see if I can jam it in for the time being...
     

Share This Page