Graphics card install question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mac Kiwi, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. Mac Kiwi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I have been fascinated by watching videos of people installing graphics cards ( Macpro 3/1 and earlier ) where some point at a clip to release the older card, some just pull and others seem to think there is a clip elsewhere on the logic board. My question is though, is there a clip on the logic board holding the card into the PCIe slot on older Macpros, which needs to be released to remove the card that is, or not?

    Tia
     
  2. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #2
    Yes it is the same type of clip on cMP 1,1/2,1 on all PCI slots.
     
  3. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #3
    There is no clip on the motherboard but there is a clip on the card. These clips often get broken if a card has been roughly removed. It seems to make no difference to functionality or reliability whether the clip is present or not. Probably the videos you have seen where they just pull out the card without releasing the clip the clip has been broken during a previous extraction.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    On the Mac Pro 1,1, 2,1, and 3,1, there are clips that hold the video card in. These clips should be pushed back when pulling out a video card or you run the risk of snapping them.

    On the Mac Pro 4,1 and 5,1, there is a mechanism that holds the video card. It is located on top of the PCI-e fan and can be released by pressing a button and sliding it forward.
     
  5. Mac Kiwi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Cheers

    I thought it must have been on the card. Although one guy was actually pressing on the logic board PCIE slot itself to release his card. But his clip was probably broken and he thought that was releasing it. Anyway I thought I better confirm that was the wrong process with you guys because I had never seen it before.
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    I found these pictures on the internet:

    This is not a Mac Pro motherboard but the 1,1-3,1 has a clip similar to this one.
    push.jpg



    The following is a picture of the mechanism from Mac Pro 4,1-5,1. (Ignore the C arrow)
    3096992_orig.jpg
     
  7. Mac Kiwi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7

    Thanks.

    That is pretty much what I saw the guy do. So the 3/1 has the PCI lever / clip to press up and the graphics card itself has a clip for release. I was quite surprised it was hard to find info on this, or maybe I was using the wrong key words.
     

Share This Page