Graphics card question for future iMac purchase

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Pilgrim1099, Jan 7, 2009.

1. Pilgrim1099 macrumors 6502a

Hello,

I'm a graphic designer/illustrator and work with Photoshop, Painter, Manga Studio, and a mix of other 2-D and 3-D applications. I'm thinking about buying a new Intel iMac to replace my old G4 mirror-drive tower (2002) and wonder about the difference between the ATI Radeon 2600 PRO and NVIDIA GeForce 8880 graphic cards that are used on the current models.

Can the both of these cards handle 2-D and 3-D, especially full-motion graphics? I'd like to continue doing 2-D print and web-based projects on low and high resolution and then migrate to doing some 3-D modelling and maybe some full-frame movies down the road using animation on 2D/3D or live action via Final Cut Pro.

But primarily, I'd prefer to focus on 2-D/3D software apps before moving on to motion and feel that having at least 2GB of RAM is all that matters regardless of the two graphic cards offered on the iMac models. I'm tempted to go with the 24 inch model, though and hook it up with another LCD for dual-screen viewing.

I just need to know the differences on those cards and their limitations so I don't end up buying something that is 'overkill' for my line of work :).

I'm aware of the glossy screen controversy and am prepared to create screen blinds to block out the light which is like a shroud that LaCie makes for their monitors. Simple solution, is'nt it?

Thanks for any advice if you have any,

-Adam

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Oh, you want to wait. You really do, you know? The new ones will have the 9400M and another card above it.

3. Pilgrim1099 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Just doing research before I do anything :). If the next cards will be an improvement, I might wait. But if the new cards end up doing the same job as the current cards, would there be a difference?

Thanks.

A

4. DuFFy macrumors regular