Graphics Card Question With the 680

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KBS756, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. KBS756 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #1
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500288

    Would this work in a Mac Pro without power changes?

    Also in 10.8.3 are all 680's plug and play now save for the boot screen?

    Thanks!

    Also what type of connector do I need to buy if I want to connect a 24in ACD (LED) with minidisplayport to the DVI (Cheapest one)

    Thanks
     
  2. dpny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #2
    Unless you want to run an additional PSU, or don't mind taking chances with your motherboard, you need a card with two 6-pin connectors. That card's description doesn't detail what kind of connectors it has, but I would guess it's a 6- and an 8-pin.

    You can get a 4GB 670 with two six-pin connectors which will work fine. It's what I have in my machine.
     
  3. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #3
    That 4gb GTX 680 is double 6-pin powered. I have one in my macpro and it's perfectly working!!!
     
  4. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    The MSI 680 4Gb twin frozr is a 2x 6-pin too.
     
  5. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #5
    So just 10.8.3 and the card and it works fine other than no boot screen?

    also would anyone know what the cheapest converter I would need to buy to buy is tha goes from dvi to mini displayport for a 24 inch cinema display 1920 x 1200

    thanks
     
  6. mattlong1978 macrumors member

    mattlong1978

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    I've previously asked this question and DVI to Mini DisplayPort convertors can be a bit pricey, the easier solution is to get a DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort cable such as this one which works out much cheaper.

    http://www.lindy.co.uk/displayport-male-to-mini-displayport-female-adapter-cable/41060.html
     
  7. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #7
  8. mattlong1978 macrumors member

    mattlong1978

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Apologies, I didn't read through the rest of the post, this is the other adaptor I originally looked at that would let you connect your Cinema Display to the DVI port on the graphics card.

    http://www.kanexlive.com/c247dl

    I don't think it's cheap but I hope this helps :)
     
  9. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #9
    At that price wouldn't I be better served getting a gt120 and running the 2nd display off that ?
     
  10. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
  11. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
  12. simplymuzik3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #12
    I don't mean to thread jack, but a quick somewhat related question:

    I've also been thinking about getting a 4GB version of the 680 (I realize no boot screens). I was wondering how the automatic fan control and temperature sensors would work. Is everything still fully automatic (in both OS X and Windows) or do I need to install a 3rd party tool to manage the fan speeds/temps.

    Thanks!
     
  13. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #13
    Since you need at least 2 DP ports (so you don't have to buy adapters), why not get an ATI card?
     
  14. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #14
    Everything is handled by the NVIDIA driver under each OS, no need for 3rd party tools.
     
  15. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #15

    Mostly CUDA ... thinking of possibly going with an Titan if its proven to work under 10.8.4 pretty well
     
  16. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #16
    I think you will find that most, if not all, of the Titan cards require 1/2x8-pin power, in which case you should get an additional PSU.

    Quote from xbitlabs; When the GeForce GTX Titan works at its default clock rates, the corresponding system needs 55 to 60 watts more than the system with ASUS GeForce GTX 680 and 44 to 45 watts more than the system with HIS Radeon HD 7970. When the Titan is overclocked, the power consumption grows up by 25 watts to 547 watts!
     
  17. KBS756, Apr 7, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013

    KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #17
    The ones I was looking at are 1 6 pin and 1 8 pin
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130899

    Like that one 1 6 and 1 8 pin

    which theoretically is

    Slot 75w, 8 Pin 150w, 6pin 75w = 300w right?

    EVGA's site says 250W total power draw

    http://www.evga.com/products/Product.aspx?pn=06G-P4-2793-KR

    If that isnt true is there a way to add an FPS booster to the 2nd DVD slot without having to actually modify the case to run the cables?
     
  18. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #18
    You are hoping it "only" pulls 250W, but according to tests it might pull more!

    And, yes, you will find plenty of references here in the forums to adding a slot PSU. There is a bit of work to get it to start up in harmony with your Mac Pro, but again, there are plenty of references.
     
  19. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #19
    I was under the impression that 6 Pin cables at most could deliver 75w and 8 pin Cables at most could deliver 150 watts as well as 75w being the max for the PCIE slot which would mean it would max out at 300w if it needed more wouldnt the card have 2 8 pins on it?

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/geforce_gtx_titan_review,9.html
     
  20. xav8tor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #20
    Your understanding of the pins/power seems correct. Don't let that the post above about 547W confuse the issue. That number was the tester's total system power draw. Reviews that have fleshed out the power used only by the Titan show it running in the 230's to as high as 271 when maxed out. There's a margin of measurement error in these tests so 250 seems about right, but you need the overhead to be safe. 300W, I decided, should be enough for me, and I do plan on running the card extremely hard. I may sacrifice both optical drives, replacing them with the Apple external USB DVD drive, and use their power connectors with a dual 15 SATA to 6 pin plug for the added power beyond the slot and the two 6 pins feeding an 8 pin adapter. That would total up to 300.
     
  21. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #21
    Thats exacty what I am considering doing only not sure how the titan will work on the OSX side so thats what I am trying to be sure of before pulling the trigger
     
  22. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #22
    Don't be to sure that will work. I have a MacBook Air and the USB Superdrive, but when I plug it into the Mac Pro, or into my MacBook Pro, it is not recognised, and it will not let me insert a DVD.

    I don't know when is holding it back, but it works just fine in my MacBook Airs.
     
  23. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #23
    I found the same thing out after buying one, thankfully the store took it back.
     
  24. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #24

    I never use my dvd burners anymore anyway so I wont really be missing anything there.

    Does anyone know anything about 10.8.4 and titan support other then netkas says its there?
     
  25. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #25
    The screenshots (the real ones) are from us.

    The card self inits in 10.8.4

    OpenCl is not functional, but CUDA is.

    CUDA-Z shows a wrong number for single precision though.

    As this is first 10.8.4 Beta, I'm sure it will get better.

    With any luck, if Nvidia gets a 10.8.3 Webdriver out, the support will be better there.

    Not ready for primetime yet, but coming.
     

Share This Page