Graphics Card that work with High Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cloudnoize, May 7, 2018.

  1. cloudnoize macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I own a GTX 660 graphics card which works perfectly with Sierra inside a Mac Pro 2010 and I'm running 2 monitors, a Sony x720e 49" 4K and a HP 27es. There's the normal issue of not seeing the Apple logo at start up but that's ok. When High Sierra came out, it introduced graphic artifacts and the card is completely unusable.

    Having said that, is there any card (AMD or NVIDIA) that I can purchase which will work right out of the box... meaning... not adding any codes or working with system or graphics files to make it work? I would like to purchase a card that is completely "plug & play".

    Thanks!
     
  2. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    Yes! And I just got mine working. It’s a cheapish option, but the rx 560 is working right out of the box and offering me good performance for the short time I’ve had it. As long as you’re on 10.13.4, and you don’t buy an XFX card, you should be off to go very fast! The same applies to the rx 570 and rx 580, but especially now, those cards are a lot more pricey. The one I have is a sapphire pulse rx 560 4gb, if you’re going for that you’ll need a 6-pin Mac pci power cable. Not all need that power cable. Theirs a lot more options on the AMD side of things because the drivers are built in to high Sierra and don’t need download.

    The only problem I had with it at first was I was getting small artifacts when in games, when using dvi, but that might only be my issue. No one else I’ve talked to has had that happen. I fixed this by using HDMI instead of DVI.

    There’s always a risk with upgrading gpu’s on these old systems, so keep in mind that everyone’s situation is different but we can gather for the most part that some things work and some don’t.
     
  3. cloudnoize thread starter macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #3
    Thanks for posting, t8er8. I'm glad to hear your experience is a good one. Like you, others have mentioned staying away from NDIVIA and going with an AMD card so the Sapphire Pulse RX 560 4gb may be a great choice for me too. I don't game and I mostly use it to create music so I should be good. Also, I'll use both DisplayPort and HDMI, so it should be good there too. Best of all, it's plug & play.
    --- Post Merged, May 7, 2018 ---
    Hi t8er8 (or anyone else with this card),

    Would you happen to know if the Gigabyte Radeon RX 560 would do the same job as the Sapphire RX 560? Thx.
     
  4. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    It should but I have no real tested proof, the thing to go by normally is just avoid XFX and favour sapphire
     
  5. cloudnoize thread starter macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #5
    Thanks! Appreciate your input. Cheers...
     

Share This Page