Graphics Card Upgrade for Mac Pro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by antipex, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. antipex macrumors member

    antipex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1 running Yosemite (and maybe El Capitan soon) that I'm hoping to get a little more life out of... does anyone know which video cards are confirmed to work in the Mac Pro 1,1 out of the box? I've scoured some threads and found conflicting reports about certain cards. I'm trying to find something in the sub-$200 range that's better than my (dreadfully loud) Radeon HD 5870.
     
  2. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #2

    The HD5770 and HD5870 are the best that properly support Lion + boot screens + newer OS like Yosemite, or El Capitan. I wanted Lion support for when there is an update, and the boot.efi breaks. Easy to just boot into Lion to fix it.

    The Sapphire 7950 mac edition also works in a 1,1 with boot screens but Lion drivers dont work right. As long as you dont need Lion support, you can go with the 7950.

    According to MVC, for nvidia cards in the 1,1 with boot screens, your limited to the 8800GT as the best one.

    If you dont need boot screens, and are going to use yosemite/el capitan, then you can even just use a PC type nvidia, or AMD card.
     
  3. antipex thread starter macrumors member

    antipex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #3
    I'm using Yosemite already and I'm not concerned about the lack of boot screen – I'm just curious which cards actually work with the 1,1 since there's conflicting evidence in some of the threads here.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    If you don't care about boot screens then all the same cards as a 5,1.

    Just pay attention to OS and drivers.
     
  5. brianbrook macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    I picked up a Gigabyte 750 Ti 4Gb for my 1,1 and it works for me in slot 2 w/ 8X which still runs circle around the stock 7300 GT, if your on a budget it is your best best, better would be a 960, 970, 980 etc.
     
  6. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #6
    HD4870's work well and most can be flashed I got mine off Craigslist for 40 dollars
     
  7. brianbrook, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016

    brianbrook macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    I needed a cheap 4GB card to run GPU based Davinci Resolve and it's working better that I thought it would with an SSD: 268 MB/Sec!
     
  8. antipex thread starter macrumors member

    antipex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #8
    I just ordered a GeForce GTX 950... it's got a 6-pin power connector so it should work. I'll report back with results!
     
  9. dfritchie macrumors regular

    dfritchie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #9
    I paid less than $100 for my PC7950, easy to flash if you want boot screens too.
     
  10. brianbrook macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #10
    Okay, so now in slot 2 with the Gigabyte 750 Ti: 4gb GV-N75TWF20C-4GI there is no signal! I was cautioned about the 750 Ti in Mac 1,1 running 10.10.5 but tried it and it's just not compatible! I put an old 650 Ti and the Mac booted fine AND ran the card in slot 1 16X whereas the 750 Ti ONLY ran in slot 2 8X...lesson learned now I will return and try this model EVGA 960 4GB one 6 pin: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814487154, anybody running this in a 2006 Mac?
     
  11. antipex thread starter macrumors member

    antipex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #11
    I installed the NVIDIA web drivers, then the GeForce GTX 950 in slot 1, rebooted, and besides no boot screen (which is expected and totally fine) everything is working perfectly. The card is virtually silent most of the time and is very quiet under load as well.
     
  12. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    I wish MVC could figure out a working 32bit EFI that would allow the 750 or 950 maxwell cards to work properly in a 1,1.
     
  13. xxcressac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
  14. antipex thread starter macrumors member

    antipex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #14
    Yeah, even my 950 isn't great performance-wise due to hardware limitations of the 1,1, but it basically matches the Radeon HD 5870 I had before and is nearly completely silent.
     
  15. StyleWriter 2, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016

    StyleWriter 2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #15

    Yes, I am running this along with 2 Xeon X5365's, 960gb SSD, El Capitan... Just installed it yesterday and it's working great.

    https://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/5447586
     
  16. irakly macrumors newbie

    irakly

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    #16
    Brian, did you figure out the best configuration for this? I have exactly the same goal.
     
  17. guididonato macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    #17

    Hi guys. I will try to install this week the el Captain on my macpro 1.1. After all, which video card would you recommend to replace the one I have to make it work? As far as I could understand, the graphic card is the only hardware I´d have to change. I got an 16G ram macpro 1.1. Best regards.
     
  18. RocksIRC macrumors newbie

    RocksIRC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #18
    what do you recommend for a macpro firmware updated to 2,1 a geforce gtx 950 EVGA or MSI or ASUS version of the 950 to be most compatible?
     

Share This Page