Graphics Corruption ? Hardware or software?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zeeklancer, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. zeeklancer, Jan 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013

    zeeklancer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #1
    So, I get this weld corruption in Messages. Although when I went to blur my friends contact name out Pixelmator seems to do something weird with the tool bar in full screen.

    But for the most part I only ever see this in Messages. Anybody have any ideas?

    -Zeek
     

    Attached Files:

  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    I want to help yet your included screenshot is huge, 3.5 MB, we are not all on unlimited internet connection.

    The preview is too small, so I can't be too sure, might be messages since you say it only happens there.
     
  3. zeeklancer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #3
    I have uploaded a ~200 something k version, just lowered the quality.
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    Perfect, don't think this is a HW problem, it's only in the SideBar.

    What you could do is test the MBP with Apple hardware Test, to be safe, if there are no errors it's almost sure to be OS or Application related.

    Hold D at startup to use AHT, you can read more in the link below.

    Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

    If there are no errors you could try to move the .plist file in your Preferences folder to the desktop and restart messages.
    Better even, try to log into another User Account, if you don't have one create one in Users And Groups in System Preferences and log into that account, if it is gone there are issues inside your normal User Account.
     
  5. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    i'd wager it's a software problem specific to that application if:

    you grab the top bar of the window, move it all over the place, and if the artifacts don't change or get worse.

    but.. i'm no expert.

    i have had one bad graphic card, though, and that's what happened.
     
  6. zeeklancer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    I ran the test, no errors (did not do extended test)...

    Once it messes up like that I can fix it for a while by resizing the bar.

    Going to find the config file and see if that helps
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    Or as I suggested before log into another account and see what happens there.
     
  8. zeeklancer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #8
    I have to wait to do that, I am currently at work and it takes some time for this problem to show up. It could be days. I hardly ever turn my computer off, just close the lid and go home ...
     
  9. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #9
    I occasionally got graphic software glitches in Pixelmator with my iMac but fortunately they cleared up with a reboot. Do they come right back with you after you reboot?
     
  10. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    You don't need to restart for this, just enable fast User switching in System Preferences after making a new account, then in the Menu Bar click on the User Icon and click on the new User, it will flip to the new User without you logging out.
     

Share This Page