Graphics Glitching Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fate0311, Dec 31, 2015.

  1. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #1
    So I have a maxed out 15" MBP with the AMD 370x. I have posted a link to a video showing the glitching issue I'm having when logging into OSX. I do have bootcamp installed with Windows 10 and was not sure if this is some sort of graphics "switching" glitch when logging back into OSX. You will see dashes flicker across the screen after I type in my password and prompt it to login. It does login after that glitch, although I cut the video short as I had windows up with personal information I did not want in the video. Additionally I also notice on the login screen the user account names have smaller font and are not as crisp in resolution.

    The more I think though, I do not recall it doing it until recently which leads me to believe it's not induced by bootcamp.

    Ideas anyone?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/qrqi6z4ciphelmy/IMG_0080.MOV?dl=0
     
  2. fate0311 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    You have a warranty, use it. That looks like a graphics card problem to me.
     
  4. fate0311 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
  5. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  6. fate0311 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #6
    Yes, every time. I have added another link to a video showing a full restart and boot up this time.

    I also notice the progress bar goes from this nice clean look to a rectangle shape, you can see it in the video below.

    The only other idea I can think of to single out hardware vs driver is to do a clean install of OSX.


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/7uooavgmm6pz085/IMG_0086.MOV?dl=0
     
  7. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
  8. fate0311 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #8
    Just followed those steps to reset SMC and that seemed to have solved it, although the progress bar still completes about 1/4 of the way then goes to a rectangle shape.
     
  9. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #9
    I must have missed it. At one time in the video does it do the thing with the progress bar?
     
  10. fate0311 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #10
    Yes after the artifacts flash on the screen. You see the progress bar briefly then the desktop hits.
     
  11. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #11
    Not quire sure - hopefully you have an Apple store near you that you can schedule an appointment at your convenience.
     

Share This Page