Graphics issue with new 15" MBPr

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LoneWolfUSMC, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. LoneWolfUSMC macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #1
    I have been using my new 15" MBPr for a couple weeks now and loving it. I have run it pretty hard through two different video projects (Premiere CS6) and it scrubs through H.264 1080p footage like a dream and renders faster than real time.

    However I now I have a nagging little problem. Now and then I get little colored pixels popping up in a group in the middle of my screen. They are appearing on the retina display and the external (Acer H233H) attached by HDMI. They will also pop up occasionally when no external display is attached.

    The MBPr is under warranty (and I also bought the Apple Care). I just want to see if any of you guys have seen this before I call Apple about it. No Apple Stores local to me, so it's not as simple at just taking it to a Genius. (two hour drive).

    I tried a search for this issue, but I am either not using the correct terms or it's not a common problem since none of the results sounded like my particular issue.

    While I was typing this it popped up twice in different locations, so I snapped a screenshot.

    Really loving this thing and hoping it's not a serious issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacKid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    #2
    I'm pretty sure your computer has the measles.
     
  3. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I'm sure that helps the OP a lot...

    Have you tried the usual SMC and PRAM reset?

    Also, make sure you're running the latest update/drivers.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    Is it just in Safari? The current Safari is rather buggy and can produce graphical artefacts.
     
  5. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    Ive noticed this a lot, its horrible.

    I would;

    1. PRAM Reset
    2. SMC Reset

    If no luck then I would try diff browser to see if the problem persist within JUST Safari or through-out all apps.
     
  6. maxosx macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    Still trying different tests to sort out this graphics issue. Mine seems to do it consistently as well as randomly. I know that's a bit ambiguous but so is this issue.

    Hopefully like the runaway fan problem I and hundreds of others have, Apple will do something to address and fix these issues on an otherwise nice computer. It's very annoying to drop $3K for a new laptop only to have "in your face" issues like this.

    Oh well it's only money :)
     
  7. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #7
    I saw that macbook retina HD 4000 have 760MB while macbook air 13" has 512MB, is this corect?
     
  8. B... macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #8
    Yes--I think the 15" rMBP might also only have 512 MB Intel HD 4000 vRAM, but I just took a quick look today at the Apple Store.
     
  9. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #9
    So HD4000 with 768MB only 13"" macbook pro retina has?
     
  10. B... macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #10
    I think so--but that 13" rMBP needs it more than any other Apple computer.
     
  11. LoneWolfUSMC thread starter macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #11
    It was not just Safari. It happened in various apps as well.

    Looks like an SMC Reset may have fixed it.

    I may have goofed something up that caused it. I found out the hard way that the MacBook does not like to have drives removed while it is asleep. I grabbed it off my dest and unplugged the external HD and HDMI then woke it up. It spazzed out pretty bad.
     
  12. LoneWolfUSMC thread starter macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #13
    Guess it's not fixed. My MBPr died a glorious death. Even reloading Mountain Lion won't resurrect it from the spinning wheel on boot.

    Going to have to take it to the local Authorized Service Center since the closest Apple Store is several hours away.
     
  13. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    Ouch.

    I hope it works out for you.

    Have you tried calling Apple to talk to a live person before you make the commit?
     
  14. LoneWolfUSMC thread starter macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #15
    Yep. He walked me through the SMC reset, again. Then had me try to boot to the Recovery partition. It won't boot so nothing he can do. It won't boot to a clean OSX install on the internal or external drive and won't boot to the external clone.

    I went ahead and made an appointment for the Apple Store in Louisville Monday. It's going to cost me a day and $40 in gas. But I think I have a better chance of getting it resolved quick.

    If its going to require a major part replacement, what do you think the possibility of just exchanging it for a new one is? It's only sixteen days old.
     
  15. Ultra AleM macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
  16. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #17
    OP can't boot the system anymore, so I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that they haven't installed 10.8.3.

    That's tough to say. If they do exchange it, it will be at the discretion of the store manager. So, that's the person that you may want to speak to when you're there.
     
  17. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #18
    Depends on if they can fix it or not. It usually takes 2-3 issues (and times taking it in) before a replacement is likely to happen. But if the problem is severe, then they're more likely to replace it.
     
  18. LoneWolfUSMC thread starter macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #19
    It just gets weirder. I can now get into recovery partition and it appears I can boot into Windows 7 via Bootcamp. But I still can't boot into a clean install of OXS on the primary partition or any external device.
     
  19. LoneWolfUSMC thread starter macrumors newbie

    LoneWolfUSMC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #20
    Awesome Apple Service

    First let me say I have no idea what caused this issue.

    Second, Apple Customer Service is awesome.

    I drove two hours to the nearest Apple store. The Genius ran diagnostics on the MacBook, but didn't come up with any issues. However it still would not boot. He filled out the paperwork to send it in to the service center, had me sign off, but then at the last minute said "let me check on something for you".

    About ten minutes later he came back and told me that since I haven't even had it for a month, he was going to swap it out for me. Thankfully they had the exact same MacBook in stock. They also realized that for some reason when I bought the first one, I didn't get Apple Care. I thought I did, but apparently dumped it out of the cart when I was checking out. They added the Apple Care AND gave me the Gov discount that I didn't get when I first bought it.

    Overall an excellent customer service experience. I wish I had not had the problem in the first place, but the way they handled it was outstanding.
     

Share This Page