Graphics rMBP Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by drmountaindeww, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. drmountaindeww, Jun 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012

    drmountaindeww macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #1
    Ok so even though there is 1GB gRAM in the rMBP, the display resolution kind of just evens it out to a regular MBP's graphics capability (if you understand what I'm saying). I was planning on getting the rMBP (2.3Ghz, 16GB RAM) and playing the Sims 3 on it using large houses. It does take up the C/GPU quite a bit, and was wondering if I would find lag at all. Thanks for any help that I can get!

    Edit: I'd also like to mention that I would like to have all the settings on high.
     
  2. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #2
    Playing sims is a deal breaker for you? Jesus Christ.
     
  3. drmountaindeww thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #3
    Oh, I'm sorry, I never realized that MacRumors was an area to judge people and suggest what is and isn't any of your business. This does not answer my question, hence I don't understand why you felt it was necessary to reply to my thread.
     
  4. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #4
    Depends on what resolution you plan on playing at.
     
  5. drmountaindeww thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #5
    Ok so then if I play at 'Best for Retina' vs. 1920x(whatever the 'highest resolution' is) will the performance be better or worse in which situation?
     
  6. njean777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #6
    If you play it at 1400x900 it should play just fine. That is what I do for Diablo and it runs at 45-60fps with the occasional hiccup, but I believe this is due to openGL or Blizzard not optimizing it correctly.

    If you play it at 2880x1800 then I could see it slowing down, but since sims 3 is a bit old I doubt you will have any major issues.
     
  7. ajcadoo macrumors 6502

    ajcadoo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    HAHAHAHHAH!!!! Laughed so hard when reading this. The Sims 3 determining whether or not to purchase a +$2000 Laptop. LUL
     
  8. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #8
    because when i read it, i was bewildered at how ridiculous it sounded. i guess its not a dealbreaker anymore though since you edited the original post and removed it. anyway, continue on with your sim life.
     
  9. melterx12 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #9
    the sims 3 is serious business.

    ...
     
  10. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #10
    The Sims 3 is a bit of an older game, it should run very well on the RMBP. Benchmarks show that it ran at 51 frames per second on the 2011 MBP's GPU at high settings, and the RMBP has a more powerful graphics processor.

    If for some reason it doesn't run well (or is hard to use because of text size etc.) at full 2880x1800, you should be able to run it at other 16:10 resolutions with decent results, such as 1920x1200, 1680x1050, or 1440x900.
     
  11. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #11
    An even bigger issue is getting it to play at all! I have it on DVD and have tried all kinds of methods (legit and non-legit) to be able to play it, either in OS X or Parallels, with no luck. I bought and paid for the game, and don't want to have to pay for it again in Steam (and only be able to play it under Parallels).
     
  12. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #12
    http://www.amazon.com/The-Sims-3-Mac-Download/dp/B004ZUFKEC

    You could also buy an external DVD drive, but that would probably be more expensive than just buying the game.
     
  13. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #13
    Sure an external works, but the issue isn't loading the game, it's that it checks for the DVD every time, and I don't want to travel with a DVD drive.

    $9.99 isn't a bad price, but I really shouldn't have to pay ANYTHING. I already own the game after all! And the download version is only available to people in the U.S.
     
  14. Shaunyac macrumors regular

    Shaunyac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #14
    Sims 3 is one of the best games ever made IMO. It's definitely a deal breaker if my laptop couldn't play it. End of. :D
     
  15. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #15
    OK, I have the game working with a "No-CD" mod - I mounted the original disc remotely, installed, let it do all the upgrades, then followed the instructions for the mod.

    My initial findings are that at 2880x1800 you can't really play the game. The text is ridiculously small, and you only get about 20 FPS with all the settings on highest.

    At 1920x1200, with everything at high, you get about 40 FPS. At 1440x900 you get about 50-60. On all settings I had Edge Smoothing off, but at 1440 you'd want it on. I didn't test 1680x1050 long enough to check the FPS, but you'd want smoothing at this resolution too.
     
  16. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #16
    Its in the the Sims 3 Apple Store Expansion pack.
     
  17. drmountaindeww thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #17
    Ok thank you. How do you check the FPS on a particular game anyway? Do you think that at 1400x900 with edge smoothing that it will kill the 50-60 FPS that you said? Thanks!
     
  18. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #18
    To show FPS, press Control-shift-c, type "fps on" (without quotes), press enter.

    With all settings as high as possible, it gets about 40 for normal action. When it does that panoramic zoom out and in when changing locations when switching characters, it goes lower. Of course it's not a fast action game anyway.
     
  19. drmountaindeww thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #19
    Well its good to know that people like you will spend $2,000 on a computer that doesnt do everything that they want it to.

    ----------

    Well I overeggagerated in my original post about the 'dealbreaker' thing, and I actually am not that much into Sims, it's just that it is something that I want to work well. I mean, as I mentioned to ajcadoo, you wouldn't spend $2,000+ on a computer that doesn't do everything you want it to, would you?
     
  20. willcodejavafor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #20
    Since when is it ridiculous to base your buying decisions on your needs? Especially if it's a $2000 purchase. Your post makes me rather sad.
     
  21. Fortimir macrumors 6502a

    Fortimir

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #21
    Most of us were thinking it, you said it. :D Abrasive? Yes. Pertinent? Also yes.

    ----------

    Be careful with such a claim. That's Half-Life, Diablo, Portal, Elder Scrolls, Unreal, Quake territory. ;)
     

Share This Page