Graphics slowdown on 8600 Mac Book Pro with dodgy graphics card since OSX update

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RHD, Oct 3, 2008.

1. RHD macrumors 6502

I am one of the sad people who bought a very expensive top of the line MBP back in the spring only to find the graphics card failing with entertaining artifacts and screen blackouts waking from sleep. I'm a graphics pro, I bought this to run graphics programs on and I need it to earn my keep.
    As I'm aware they'll only replace the chip at the moment with another identical which will fail next year after the warrenty runs out and I'm not keen on paying the £300 UK ($600 US) Applecare which gives pretty limited cover in the UK anyway because Apple sold me a bum chip, plus I won't be able to work for a fortnight while they replace it, I'm leaving taking the thing in to the Genius bar as long as possible.

What is now happening is that since updating my Mac OS, my graphics programs are now running at the speed of sludge. The fans aren't coming on because the thing isn't even trying. It's nearly as slow as my old TiBook.

I'm seriously depressed about this it cost me major money and I can't afford to replace it, plus at the moment what with as I need to be portable and I can't go over to PC laptops (even if I wanted to which I SO don't) because all my expensive 3D graphics software is for Mac.

Has anyone else noticed major graphics slowdown in rendering programs on their 2.6 MPB with the 8600 GT?

And anyone have any suggestions as to what to do for the best?
    Thanks guys.

Attached Files:

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

Well the current chips shouldn't have the issue anymore, so it's like it should fail in a year.

3. RHD thread starter macrumors 6502

Sorry, you mean they can replace the chip with one that won't fail in a year?

4. MKnight macrumors regular

MKnight

I recommend getting this laptop replaced now.

5. dogbait macrumors regular

You're experiencing a slow down since which update?