Graphics tablet

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by elf69, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. elf69 macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    OK this may be an accessory thread but thought this might be best place to put it.

    I used to draw a lot but due to my disability I am not able to now.

    However I have a folder with about 250 drawings and tracings of my old work.

    Was thinking of digitizing them.

    A graphics tablet was my idea and in conjunction with photoshop can then modify them.

    If I just scan it is a jpeg which is not so easy to edit.

    Is there a reasonable budget tablet which is mac ready, my old one is not mac ready.
    It is very old and 6x4 only.

    Not got massive budget but again not looking to buy crap either.

    Example of my drawings so you know what I'm working with.
    img002.jpg
     
  2. CrickettGrrrl, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016

    CrickettGrrrl macrumors 6502a

    CrickettGrrrl

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    B'more or Less
    #2
    I used to have a 4x6 Wacom Bamboo but switched to a Huion 6.25x10 several years ago based on a really good review on Ray Frenden's blog. It cost $55 US on Amazon and I. Love. It.

    It's comparable to a Wacom Intuos Pro tablet. It has great pressure sensitivity, it doesn't make the shoelace beginnings & endings on strokes like the Wacom did. It doesn't have tilt like a Wacom Intuos though, which for me is fine since I've never drawn like that in real life. I'd just use a broad lead pencil, & now digitally, a broad nib digital brush. Ditto for spraying. If you're reliant on the side of a pencil, then yes, maybe the Huion will irritate you.

    Since I bought mine, Huion came out with a cordless tablet for only a few bucks more, and more pressure levels. They're easier to set up on a Mac than on a Windows machine. Just follow Frenden's instructions - Do Not Plug the USB cord into the PC/Mac until after the Driver has been downloaded from the Huion site, and installed.

    Ray Frenden, Tablet Guru

    Amazon Huion Tablets -several kinds

    Amazon Turcom Tablet-which is a rebranded/packaged Huion for less than Huion's price
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    Well I sent my fiancee to go get a Wacom Intuos today at argos. £49.99

    Reviews seem really good and can upgrade later if/when I out grow this one.

    I like the larger Huion but fairly expensive here in UK.
    Will see how wacom goes as got next week off work so gonna play a bit.
     
  4. CrickettGrrrl macrumors 6502a

    CrickettGrrrl

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    B'more or Less
    #4
    I forgot to mention in my previous reply --because I really don't think about Wacom very often, but they changed the names of their tablet line-up a couple years ago. What was/is Bamboo is now called Intuos, and what was Intuos is now branded Intuos Pro. (Yes, just what everyone wants, more confusion while tablet shopping... :rolleyes: ) ---Also, Wacom's recent driver is buggy with OS X El Capitan, so if you have problems, it's probably the driver--not you, so try to roll back to an earlier version.

    Have fun with your new tablet! :)
     
  5. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    thanks.

    My last windows graphics tab was a "genius" branded 6x4.

    I gave it to my sister when she went university.

    Used it in her dress design course.

    She still loves it now.

    Still used on an ancient acer aspire 17" laptop running vista!
     
  6. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #6
    My mac has two screens and as the tablet is the same as the two screens together.

    Problem is there is only about one and half to 2 inches I cane use.

    How to I make it relative to ONE screen not both?

    if at all possible.
     
  7. Bertrude macrumors member

    Bertrude

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #7
    I don't know about newer Wacom tablets (I've got an inexpensive Parblo A610 at the minute) but my old Graphire installed a preference pane in the System Preferences of my Mac. That had options for setting up various things to do with the tablet inc. how it works with multiple monitors.
     
  8. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #8
    @Bertrude best answer and yes was there for me too.

    now can use on primary monitor only.
     
  9. Strider64 macrumors regular

    Strider64

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Suburb of Detroit
    #9
    I have a Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch (I shouldn't had bought the tough version) and I like it as a graphics tablet. I also use it as a second monitor for my iMac. Sorry I didn't read budget the first time...not the table for you then.
     
  10. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #10
    even setting mapping to one screen once open the artrage app still using both screens.

    still can only use half the tablet.

    and it magnify everything.

    was playing and tracing a hand written note which is about 2-3 inches long, but on screen it about 9.

    can you guys recommend a free/low cost app for tablets?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 8, 2016 ---
    It ok now with some tinkering and exploring I have sorted it now.

    hidden setting
     

Share This Page