Graphics upgrade 5.1 MPt

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Reclzz, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. Reclzz, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015

    Reclzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #1
    Hi Everyone

    I'm about to upgrade my graphics card but after reading multiple threads here and other pages online, I'm still really confused.

    I have a 2012 Mac Pro 2.4 GHz "Eight core" which I recently upgraded to 2.8 GHz "Twelve core" (2 Xeon X5660).
    I now need graphics to match the CPU upgrade. As I said above, I've been reading alot but can't seem to wade through all the option and arive at any conclusion, which is why I seek help.

    I'm a CS major and in my free time i play a little WoW and CivV, I programme, do 3D modeling (for my small personal 3D fantasy game) and video editing.

    I live in Europe and can't just buy the Sapphire 7950 og EVGA 660 and ordering from America adds 25% in fees and VAT, which is out of the question.
    I would like a recommendation on which GPU would be best at different price points, budget is ~£500, preferably less as I also need more RAM.

    Cheers
    Bo H. Sørensen aka Reclzz
     
  2. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #2
    The cheapest best bang for buck is a used GTX570 from eBay.
     
  3. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #3

    Isn't the GTX 570 quite old by now?
     
  4. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #4
    Do you need your bootscreen? Are you using bootcamp aswell, or just OS X?
    Also, what version of OS X are you running?
    If you don't care about your bootscreen I'd suggest anything from a GTX 680 up to the GTX 970. However, this depends on your OS.

    If you are already on Yosemite, the 970 probably is a no brainer.
    On Mavericks you could have a closer look at the 6GB GTX 780.
    Mountain Lion: GTX 680, GTX 770, GTX 780 3GB
     
  5. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #5

    I'm running OS X 10.10 and Windows 7, however windows is only for Visual Studio, I probably could use Parallels instead of Boot Camp now that I have 4 more cores in my system.
     
  6. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #6
    For regular professional applications like Premiere Pro & Photoshop etc it's still plenty fast enough & faster than the GTX680 for some operations. This is for OS X as I don't have a clue about Windows games. The only criticism you could make is that it runs hotter than newer models.

    ----------

    Why rule out the GTX570? You can't buy them new any more but used they are cheap & great value for the performance which is much the same as a GTX680.
     
  7. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Just buy a GTX 970 or a GTX 980 in a local shop.

    http://www.pricerunner.dk/pl/37-301...ed-ACX-2.0-(04G-P4-2983-KR)-Sammenlign-Priser

    http://www.pricerunner.dk/pl/37-301...ed-ACX-2.0-(04G-P4-2974-KR)-Sammenlign-Priser
     
  8. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #8
    I've been looking at this one from EVGA, it says the total power draw is 145W that wouldn't be a problem in the mac pro right?
     
  9. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    No. Most EVGA GTX 9x0 cards have 2x6-pin which also fits nicely in a Mac Pro. (2x6-pin is 225W max.)
     
  10. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #10

    Sounds great! I think i'm gonna get that one then. Money left over for RAM and maybe eyetv hybrid
     
  11. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  12. Reclzz, Apr 4, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015

    Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #12
    Graphics upgrade 5.1 MPt

    I just have one last question, will the 970 have problems with driving a 27" cinema display in wow for example, i've that the 256bit interface is only good for FHD but the cinema is like 1.6 million pixels bigger.

    Edit::
    And will there be a problem driving 2 or even 3 cinema displays?
     
  13. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #14
    What resolution do you want to be gaming in?
     
  14. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #15

    Great

    ----------


    I would like to run 2560x1440 ingame and even if i get more monitors i would still only use one for gaming.
     

Share This Page