Graphics vs the iMac 21"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mobius 1, May 30, 2011.

  1. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #1
    Apple says that you have the 1GB VRAM of the 6750M if you buy MBP.

    But iMac 21" have 6770M with 512MB?


    Why faster processor with less RAM and slower with more RAM?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    You can get them either way. The iMac uses the faster GPU because it has more room to dissipate heat, however the 21" is the lower end, so it doesn't get as much VRAM. The MBP can't dissipate as much heat, but the 1GB cards come in the higher end models.
     
  3. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #3
    i mean iMac 21 high end

    so MBP 2.2Ghz can process more game than 21" high end imac?????
     
  4. cirus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #4
    They did this to force people to buy the higher end model and for them to make more money.
     
  5. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #5
    typical apple x.x
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    I know it is the high end 21, but the 21 is lower end to the 27, just like the 13 MBP is lower end to the 15. VRAM isn't relevant until you get into some pretty high settings in new games or are running multiple displays. Either way, 512MB isn't bad.

    And every other computer manufacturer out there.
     
  7. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #7
    512MB is sh it for crysis 2

    but, apple does it worse than most other companies
     
  8. cirus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #8
    512 MB is pathetic when you consider you can get a pc laptop with a video card (intel processor) for $800 with 1 GB vram. Cheaper if you go AMD. Its seems to be standard now.

    It probably would cost them ~$25 to change from 512 MB to 1 GB.
     
  9. pandamonia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #9
    1gb is the minimum id use,

    most people who game on macs suffer the lowest settings and consider this to be "gaming"

    Personally if im using anything below EXTREME settings then i may as well use the PS3.
     
  10. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #10
    PS3 have no game console (refer to the "/" commands eg: "/god")

    my 2008 MB can't even launch crysis 2, it opens and shuts down immediately. i mean POWER shutdown
     
  11. Lenas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #11
    Even though the iMacs have better cards, they're also rendering graphics at a much higher resolution. Something to consider.
     
  12. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #12
    but the 6750M of the mbp have 2x more vRAM?
     
  13. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #13
    VRAM isn't everything. ;)
     
  14. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #14
    i know, but more vram lets more graphic action to be processed

    try doing it like this

    i7 2GB RAM

    i3 4GB RAM

    which?

    lol
     
  15. Kariya macrumors 68000

    Kariya

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #15
    You must be really obsessed with GPU specs. Weren't you building a PC to satisfy your spec fetishes?

    The iMac and MBP are essentially using the same GPU, one is just clocked faster whilst the other isn't but has more VRAM hich makes sense considering thermal restraints of both machines. You won't notice the increased VRAM unless you're driving a 2560 resolution monitor AND doing intensive 3D work.
     
  16. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I've heard the 6750M in the 21.5" iMac is clocked 50MHz faster than the 6750M in the MBP. 650MHz vs. 600MHz.
     
  17. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #17
    i am building my own computer (just gotta find case+PSU+wait for radeon 7000)

    this is my brother's

    he can't use hackintosh for some sort, dunno

    i'll tell him to read this thread tommorow
     

Share This Page