Gray screen in FCE when capturing VHS

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mattaut, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. Mattaut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to convert VHS tapes to DVD using FCE, a Sony DCR-VX2000, and a small old tv with a vcr built in. I have the TV connected to the camera with A/V cables and I'm going out of the camera with a DV cable. So I get FCE ready to capture and I press play on the TV then I press the capture now button and the camera automatically starts playing, but all I'm getting on both the camera and in FCE is a gray screen while the video is playing on the TV. Can anybody help me out with this?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. Mattaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for a quick reply but I don't think that's the problem. In the part of the VX2000 manual that shows how to convert an analog signal to a PC it says to connect the VCR to the camera using A/V and then connect the camera to the computer using DV. If I had to guess I would think that my problem is somewhere in the computer/FCE part of the signal flow, though I'm not sure.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    I haven't used the VX2000 in several years now, so I don't know the menu layout that good.

    But does the manual say anything about enabling the video input on those ports? Do you see the video on the VX2000 display? What is your camera set to? Is DV-OUT enabled?

    And what do you mean by "the camera starts playing"? There is no tape in it, is there? Can you capture to tape first and then capture the miniDV tape?
     
  5. Mattaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    There is an A/V->DV OUT setting that I have switched to On.

    Nope, just gray screen.

    Are you asking whether it's on VCR or Camera? I have it on VCR.

    When I hit Capture Now in FCE it tells the camera to automatically start playing.

    Hmm, yeah there was a blank tape in there so I took it out and tried again. Now the FCE capture screen is black and at the bottom it says-
    Waiting for Timecode.
    Device must be in VTR mode when Device Control is enabled.

    And the camera display is just blue and not playing or anything.

    I tried this and I can't get the video to appear on the camera. I just get blue screen.




    Just FYI- I put a DV tape in the camera that already has stuff recorded on it and I turned AV->DV OUT to Off and switched the TV to Aux and was able to watch the footage on the TV.
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    If the VHS tapes are copy protected you won't be able to record them. If you change your capture settings to "non-controllable device" you won't get the "waiting for TC" message.


    Lethal
     

Share This Page