Greatest Product Launch Of All Time?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by secondcup, Mar 16, 2011.

1. secondcup macrumors member

secondcup

Ok, I've put my $100 down at Best Buy with no joy (yet). I've read on the forum about other members' experiences trying to procure an Ipad2, and it seems few scored a pad after launch day.

Is it the greatest product launch of all time, or is this standard operating procedure for Apple? As this is my first attempt to buy an Apple product so close to launch, I have to wonder if this apparent shortage of product is normal.

2. tstarks33 macrumors regular

Hmm, I don't know... has to be greatest electronics launch ever, right?

3. mayhone1 macrumors regular

I have bought apple products for a few years and I can say that this is the only one that I've had to wait 3-4 weeks for. So I think people just really want this thing...

4. Dknelson728 macrumors member

I'ma let you finish..but the iPhone 4 had one of the best launches of ALL TIME!

5. IbisDoc macrumors 6502

6. iArch macrumors regular

iArch

If you're going to be at home, next time you go to buy something from Apple on day one, order it online for home delivery. Drama / obnoxious trip to an Apple Store avoided.

That said, in addition to being able to order online for home delivery, in the past, those with actual lives/jobs have been able to reserve online for in store pickup. One would then simply show up at the Apple Store on opening day and be queued up in a reservation holder line that moves quickly. You're out of there and back to reality in no time.