Green (Holiday) Pixels 30" Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Average Pro, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #1
    Just in time for the holidays, my computer (monitor) has decided to light-up with green holiday blinkers. They appear at log-in (prior to logging in) on the desktop and within programs. Spent some time with tech support and the only time they didn't show up was in Safe Mode and Screen Share. We created a new account and they appeared as well. After several test (Option-Command-R-P, Shift at restart, and removing a plist file) the problem continued. They originally felt it was software (3rd party), but since the problem appears before logging-in, they suspect it may be hardware. The last thing we did was run some kind of capture test (dmgpart). They said they will analyze the data and get back to me.

    I noticed that most of the threads on this were dated. If anyone has any idea, feel free to provide. Fortunately, I have the extended warranty. As soon as I get a reply, I'll update this thread.
     
  2. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #2
    Mine will do that on certain cards on the port closest to the mother board
     
  3. sarthak, Nov 10, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

    sarthak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I have the same issue on my left and centre ACD 30". Initially, I figured it was related to the MDP -> DL DVI adapter.
     
  4. Average Pro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #4
    For what it's worth the MP is running AMD FirePro D500. I also noticed that the amount of green lights intermittently increases then goes back to just a few.
     
  5. Average Pro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #5
    Here is the answer I received today:

    "...the issue is with the Graphic Processing Unit. The reason the issue is not occurring in safe mode is that safe mode disables hardware acceleration."

    Looks like the little R2 unit is headed to the shop for repairs.
     

Share This Page