Green Screen Flickering 12 inch Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Sledguyry, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Sledguyry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #1
    Anyone have issues similar to this? I had the graphics card reset once through a chat with Apple and the issue went away for a week or so. I have an appointment at the genius bar this weekend. Anyone have any other suggestions to fix this, or know what the problem is? The green flickering happens randomly as I move the curser around the screen. Thanks for any input. IMG_1754 2.JPG
     
  2. Niarlatop macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    #2
    It could be a defective GPU or software problem.
    Anyway, over the two weeks I spent with mine, I neved had such a problem.

    You should ask for an exchange.
     
  3. tjleonard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #3
    So mine is doing the same thing although it's a very fast green flicker on the bottom half of the screen. I am not using any software like you have from the screenshot but what did the problem turn out being?
     
  4. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #4
    Those are classic hardware video issues/symptoms. It's either a bad screen or it could be a bad logic (mother) board. Take it to the Genius Bar and get it swapped. Do a backup first, though.
     
  5. tjleonard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #5
    It doesn't seem to do it all of the time. One day, it did it every 1-2 times every 3-4 minutes. I did a reboot and it was like 2-3 times within 3-4 hours. I haven't seen it in a day or two, but not sure I feel comfortable saying it's not happening anymore.
     
  6. Sledguyry thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #6
    Apple replaced the gpu for me and it worked perfectly for a few weeks. Then the issue came back. I made another appointment to bring it back in and before I took it back the problem went away again and has not returned. I am wondering if it was a software issue that resolved itself from an update?
     

Share This Page