Greenpois0n baseband safe?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by h00ligan, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #1
    Guys,

    If on 4.01 and jb+unlock, is greenpois0n safe to use or will it lock out baseband again?

    I notice you must be on 4.1 to run it, so I'm guessing either the latest firmware doesn't upgrade baseband or there's no unlock yet?

    I gather one could use tiny umbrella, but this is for a non tech friend trying to do it and I doubt he'd go that far.

    Thanks for the info!
     
  2. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    Tinyumbrella is the only way to perserve baseband, as of now. Its not complicated at all, I find it rather easy to use.
     
  3. h00ligan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  4. fishmd macrumors 68000

    fishmd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny South Florida
    #4
    If you don't use tiny umbrella, the baseband will be upgraded and therefore unlockable. If he wants an easier way, wait till this coming Sunday for the new DevTeam jailbreak tool which will do the upgrade without upgrading baseband.
     
  5. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #5
    You did not say which phone you have. Tiny umbrella will only protect the baseband on ip4. If you have a 3GS and use it to upgrade you will upgrade your baseband.
     
  6. h00ligan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #6
    I told him to wait for that :)

    iPhone 4, thanks for the clarification!

    I'll do all the tiny umbrella stuff when I'm home...probably best to have a backup of my baseband anyway.
     
  7. h00ligan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #7
    If I build a firmware on my Mac, can that firmware be used on other devices usinng windows? I'm just wondering if it's possible to share modified firmwares or if they are tied to either device or host os?
     
  8. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #8
    YES.
     
  9. h00ligan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  10. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    Just for the record, you can't "backup" your baseband; once you update it, it's updated for good.
     
  11. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #11

    Greenpois0n doesn't "lock out" anything. You lock yourself out when you restore your phone to new firmware before thinking about what you are doing.
     

Share This Page