Greenpoison Unlocked....but Loader not launching

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by deathtotoasters, May 23, 2011.

  1. deathtotoasters macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    Hello all,

    I seem to have a situation. I have used Greenpoison to jailbreak my verizon iphone.

    It jailbreaks fine. Loader icon is there, but does not launch anything. I have tried re-jailbreaking it several times, still to no joy.

    I have tried and loaded redsnow but when ever I point it to a ipsw that I have downloaded, it always says "unable to recognize specified IPSW"

    I am at a loss. Can anyone help me out?

    Thanks
    Dtt
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    What firmware version is your verizon iphone on?
     
  3. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #3
    It is running 4.2.8 (8E401)

    I tried downloading what I THOUGHT was the correct replacement file,(iPhone3,3_4.2-1.8_8E401_Restore.ipsw) and tried to load it into redsnow....4 different version of redsnow, and it always says that it cannot "open specified ipsw) error.

    I have the loader icon on my iphone...but when I click it, it tries to open but no joy....and I cannot delete it either.

    I have tried jailbreaking with greenpoison 5 and 6.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    GP doesn't work on 4.2.8
    Restore it and use snowbreeze.
     
  5. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #5
    I cannot seem to find a way to load JUST cydia in snowbreeze...
     
  6. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #6
    You will use Sn0wbreeze to create a custom 4.2.8 IPSW (firmware) file and you will restore to it using iTunes while your phone is in pwned DFU mode.
     
  7. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #7
    Ok I built the file....put it in dfu mode....but it verifies the software with apple and says it cannot install it. If I disconnect the internet connection is still says it cannot install it.

    I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong.
     
  8. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #8
    Is it it PWNED DFU mode? Sn0wbreeze will walk you through the steps to do this after you've cooked the custom IPSW. If you're only in regular DFU and not pwned, iTunes won't accept the custom firmware. Also, there's no point in disconnecting from the internet because iTunes needs the connection to contact Apple's servers in order to make the restore happen.

    As I do not own a CDMA iPhone 4 nor do I live in a country where one is available, I am not really sure how to tackle your problem other than the advice that I have already offered.
     
  9. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #9
    Thanks for that info. It is helpful. Ok I am running a mac, but am running snowbreeze through parallels. Well I have the phone in, what I believe is PWNED DFU mode and it won't recognize it in the snowbreeze program.

    I am trying to run redsnow in mac....but as it builds the file, it is crashing everytime.

    Gosh this should NOT be this hard. lol
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    No redsnow, it doesnt work either with 4.2.8 Why you keep using programs that you have no idea if they work or not for your type of phone and firmware version?
    Snowbreeze is your only option.
    Find a tutorial, build the custom ipsw and put the phone in pwned DFU and restore to that JB firmware with itunes.

    Here, follow this: http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak...d-and-ios-4.3.3-with-sn0wbreeze-2.7-tutorial/
     
  11. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #11
    I am not trying to be difficult. The issue is that I use a mac,and snowbreeze only works on windows, from what I can see. So I am trying to make it work.
     
  12. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #12
    Chances are you won't be able to get it to run through Parallels. I've found it impossible to properly get the DFU-mode jailbreaks to run through Parallels because of the way it does the USB passthrough.
     
  13. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #13
    Just found a windows box to use then or bootcamp?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Yes, shouldn't be that hard to find a windows computer.
     
  15. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #15
    Well I gave up on getting this to work on a mac, ironically.

    So I have done it with snowbreeze on a windows machine. Seemed to go fine, but got stuck the apple logo for 20 min. So I restoring with original firmware and will try again.

    Any other advice to not try and get the apple logo loop?
     
  16. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #16
    Restored to factory setting.

    Rejailbroke with the file that was made from the snowbreeze.

    Same stuck on Apple logo screen.

    Uggggghhhgh any suggestions.
     
  17. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #17
    Maybe you're just not meant to be jailbroken. :p
     
  18. deathtotoasters thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #18
    Well my att iphone 4 was a piece of cake....this one seems to be the bane of my existence!!
     

Share This Page