Grey Screen HELP!!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by trey5498, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. trey5498 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    I have a 2008 iMac and it continuously goes to the grey screen tell me to restart the PC. I have reset the PRAM (alt+command+p+r) and even hooked it up to a macbook with a firewire and erased the iMac. I am trying to boot off the CD and no matter what I do ....... Hold C or Hold Options it does nothing but go back to the grey screen. What the heck do I do :(
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Have you made any changes to the machine recently? New RAM, new HDD, etc.
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    I forget if AHT is built in the or if it's off the install DVD for the 2008 iMac's. On startup, try to press and hold "D" to see if the AHT will load.
     
  4. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  5. 5DollaFootlong macrumors 6502

    5DollaFootlong

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
  6. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #6
    I did that and came back with no errors :( Just wont let me boot off anything...... Everything I try from the CD, to External bootable HD gives me the grey screen. Keep in mind the Main HD is formatted now
     
  7. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    Would make since If I could boot off anything else.
     
  8. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #8
    If you're unable to execute any pre-boot commands, there's nothing much you really can do but to take it to Apple for repair. Hopefully you have AppleCare because I'm thinking the logic board is gone bad.
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I'd agree here, if nothing is working, then it is probably a logic board issue.
     
  10. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #10


    no warrentee and no money there is nothing else I can do to check?
     
  11. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    If you can't get it to boot from the DVD, then not really.
     
  12. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #12
    How much does it cost to have this repaired?
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    You'd have to ask Apple, but logic boards usually run upwards of $600-800.
     

Share This Page