Grey Screen while trying to install OSX on new 1tb HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ironsidephoto, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. ironsidephoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #1
    I have a brand new 13" MBP. It came with a 250GB HDD.



    I bought an OEM 1TB Western Digital Scorpio Blue internal HDD. It fits perfectly, even though some have complained because it's taller than most 2.5" drives. Here's the link:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136545&Tpk=wd 1tb


    Anywho. I installed it, and all seemed great. I booted it up, and as expected saw the folder with a question mark because there was no OS installed. No problem.

    I insert my Snow Leopard disk, and it looks like it's loading the install files (twisty status thing underneath the Apple logo). No problem.

    HOWEVER:

    It takes longer than usual to "load" these files, and I never see the OSX install dialogue. Instead, it stays on the grey screen for an extended period and then I get the grey screen of death telling me to power down.

    I called Apple and they said to call Western Digital. I called them, got disconnected and frustrated, and just haven't called back yet.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ironsidephoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #3
    I've tried all of that, and nothing has helped. Resetting the PRAM only made my screen brighter :).

    I can't boot into safe mode because there is no OS to boot to, even safely.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Can you put the old HD back and try if it boots then?
     
  4. ironsidephoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #5
    Yep. Everything is fine when I put the old drive back in.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Call WD again then. The drive is likely defective
     
  6. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

    cloroxbleach4

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    Why don't you stick the old drive in and clone the old one onto the new one. You can use Carbon Copy Cloner to do this.
     

Share This Page