OS X GRiD 2 is out!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MacsRgr8, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. Solomani macrumors 68040

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #2
    This seems like the closest thing to the classic Playstation Gran Turismo racing games. Definitely interested! But I might wait a bit until I hear more about actually performance on a range of Mac hardware.
     
  2. macmacguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
  3. bmac89 macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #4
    Apparently the package is slightly different depending where you buy it.

    The Steam version of GRID 2 Reloaded Edition (Bought directly from Feral Interactive or Steam) includes all DLC except the Demolition Derby Pack (which is free anyway) and the Car Unlock Pack (which you can buy in addition if you want).

    The Mac App Store version includes all DLC including the above two, and supports split-screen multiplayer, while the Steam / Feral version supports cross platform online multiplayer as well as split-screen.

    So no online multiplayer if you buy the Mac App Store version but you get the 2 extra DLC included.

    ----------

    According to the System Requirements my Graphics Card is not supported. I have an Nvida Geforce 9400, 250mb.

    Does this mean it simply won't run or is there a chance that the game might work on a lower setting? My computer meets or exceeds all other system requirements and I have 8gb RAM.

    I have the same question for Lord of the Rings - War in the North.

    It appears that the Windows version of the game will run on the exact same computer in bootcamp (according to system requirements), so I assume it has something to do with mac software/drivers rather than the hardware.

    Hope someone can help me with my query - even if your not completely sure.

    Thanks
     
  4. Solomani macrumors 68040

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #5
    Yeah, the MAS version specifically says "Face off against a friend/rival in split-screen racing."

    Sounds like online (head-to-head) challenge mode to me. And yes, it does so via Game Center, therefore Mac to Mac only. (it's listed as a Game Center game)
     
  5. oneshotpro Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    #6
    They removed the cockpit view, so will not buy it.
     
  6. MacsRgr8 thread starter macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Noticed that too... after I bought it via the MAS.
    What is the reason for that??

    Cockpit view is also my favourite view. Game still is fun enough with "bonnet view" ;)
     
  7. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #8
    The developers said something along the line that not enough people would use it.
     
  8. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #9
    Is this serious? No cockpit view!?!
    Count me out then. I don't know anyone who doesn't use cockpit view for racing games.
     
  9. garnerx macrumors 6502

    garnerx

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #10
    I usually use the bumper cam so I get the maximum view of the road ahead and the best sensation of speed, although the cockpit camera in Grid 1 was particularly excellent.

    I think they removed it because they were trying to cut costs and modelling all those car interiors to modern game standards takes a lot of time. There was a big backlash when this first came out, they wouldn't try something like that again.
     
  10. Trautman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    Some of graphics settings of GRID 2 are changed without leave.
    As far as I investigated, it seems that false graphics settings are written to Preferences Data.

    My Mac environment : iMac mid 2011, Quad-core 2.5GHz, AMD 6750m 512MB, 12GB RAM, OS X 10.9.5.
     
  11. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #12

    Submit a support ticket to Feral. They're very good about responding to them. Perhaps this is a bug that got overlooked and can be fixed.
     
  12. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #13
    And they didn't: the successor, GRiD Autosport has a cockpit view again. :p
     
  13. Trautman, Sep 28, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2014

    Trautman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    Thanks for your kindness. I sent Feral support an email.

    ----------

    A cockpit view of Autosport is almost the same as Cockpit Cam Mod of GRID 2.
     
  14. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #15
    Does that mod work on the OS X version?

    If so that has doubled my interest :)
     
  15. Trautman, Sep 30, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014

    Trautman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
  16. weezin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #17
    Anyone else tried this game yet? I'm tempted to buy it, but want to see how the feedback is so far...
     
  17. Trautman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    Graphics are better than GRID & DiRT 2.
    It is the almost same graphics settings as DiRT 2, and is the same frame rate.
    Game modes increase from GRID.
     
  18. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #19
    Just to be clear the MAS version only offers "Split Screen racing" this mode is where you both play on the same machine. Multiplayer using multiple machines is only available on the Steam version. The Steam version is 100% Mac/PC compatible.

    If we list a card as unsupported it means we don't think the performance is good enough for us to officially support it even on min settings (usually it is a specific area, excessive load times or performance stutters etc). However some people might find the performance acceptable however we will be unable to offer support or assistance if you have trouble.
     
  19. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #20
    just a heads up its free to play this weekend but more importantly its only 6.24 euro :apple:
     
  20. bmac89 macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #21
    Thanks a lot for the heads up!

    ----------

    I have a few question which I hope you or someone else can help clarify. I am thinking of buying the steam version.

    I realise there is difference between MAS & Steam version, but is there any difference at all between feral store version and direct from steam? I understand the feral store uses steam as well but are there any differences?

    Also what is the software license for Grid 2 / Grid 2 Reloaded? Can you install it on more than 1 mac you own? If so can you play online multiplayer with the 1 game purchase or do you need a second purchase/license for this?

    Lastly can you play online multiplayer between Grid 2 and Grid 2 Reloaded or do they need to be the same version?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  21. NazgulRR, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014

    NazgulRR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #22
    I've been trying to play it on Steam this weekend as it is free to play.

    As soon as I finish the first race, when the game is supposed to get back to the menu, I get a green screen. I tried different resolutions, full screen/windowed mode, different graphics settings, but nothing seems to work. Anyone else get this bug? I got a 2013 13" MBA, OSX 10.10
     
  22. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #23
    Nope, sounds like something on your Mac, however it could be a bug in 10.10 as Apple have just released it and often the initial release has a few side effects.

    I'd drop an email to Feral support and we can get some more details but that isn't an issue we have seen in development or with the 10.10 betas and we have done lots of testing with GRID 2 and 10.10.

    Cheers,

    Edwin
     
  23. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #24
    I was playing the game a bit earlier. I paused because I needed to step away from the computer. The game was running the whole time. When I went to resume, the system had locked up. It eventually crashed to the desktop. Unfortunately, I didn't save a log file and have not had a chance to try and reproduce the issue. This was on 10.9.5 (not upgrading until Yosemite hits at least 10.10.1).
     
  24. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #25
    That's strange, sounds like your OS Graphics driver crashed, if it happens again please drop our support a line and we can investigate.

    Edwin
     

Share This Page