Grid spacing smaller in Finder

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by nikicampos, Sep 27, 2016.

  1. nikicampos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #1
    I was looking for this but found nothing about it, anyone else having this problem?

    Can't believe Apple did this, I like to sort different folder by Date Modified and now instead of 5 items per row when I do this it changes to 6, It's so f****** annoying!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  3. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #3
    How about going to View/Show View Options, and adjusting the grid spacing and/or icon size to suit your needs?

    A.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Hmm... Some change in Sierra that affects the default spacing, I guess.
    Not something I notice, as I only use list view, no icons other than desktop for more than 10 years.
    Can you get the spacing that you like in View Options?
    Adjust either the icon size, or the grid spacing. Either will have some effect on the items per row. Adjust until you like it :D
    And, you can press the "Use as Defaults", although that tends to mess with OTHER windows if you change your sort-by often.
    That may not affect you much, unless you actually change the "sort by" settings frequently in individual folders.
     
  5. nikicampos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #5

    Thanks for some stupid answers, yeah, I'm going in on 100+ folders to change this. :/
     
  6. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    Because it is too much trouble to click on the "Use as Defaults" button?

    A.
     
  7. nikicampos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #7
    Again with your "brilliant" answers, hahahahaha, when you click on that only applies to new folders, not te existing ones.
     
  8. iwataasks macrumors newbie

    iwataasks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    #8
    didn't work for me. I mean it only works for current folder, but grid spacing in other folders became random "mess" after that.
     
  9. Alrescha, Sep 29, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016

    Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #9
    Your statement is false. Clicking on Use as Defaults sets those options for all folders you open, regardless of old or new. Easily verified by anyone with a Mac.

    A.
     
  10. iwataasks macrumors newbie

    iwataasks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    #10
    not true anymore. it worked before, but it doesn't work in MacOS 10.12

     
  11. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #11
    I upgraded both my Mac mini and rMBP and have noticed this. All of a sudden there are now 5 files per row instead of 4. Makes it much harder to sort through, I'm very used to 4. "Use as Defaults" seems to work most of the time, but it's a pain when you have custom viewing options for certain folders.
     
  12. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #12
    Well, I do not know what to tell you. It works on mine.

    A.
     
  13. kevo0822 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    Sorry, but you're wrong. I have two Macs and this doesn't work like you say on either of them.
     
  14. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #14
    If you had asked, politely...

    You can reset a specific folder by going to the folder in Finder, then View → ‘Show View Options’ → hold the option key → ‘Restore to Defaults’ (at the bottom).

    You can also go nuclear and remove all view preferences of your home directory with this Terminal command:
    Code:
    find ~ -name .DS_Store -delete

    You might have to relaunch Finder (hold the option key, then right-click on the Finder dock icon). Then all folders that you view with ‘icon view’ should show your new default.
     
  15. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #15
  16. kevo0822 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #16
  17. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #17
    When I tell you how it works, you tell me I am wrong. Do you think your broken Macs are representative of the world?

    A.
     
  18. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #18
    It doesn't matter for the purpose of the thread. If they say it doesn’t work, then it doesn’t work. I’ve provided a solution above, now we just have to wait for feedback.
     
  19. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #19
    I think you and I have differing views as to the purpose of this thread, but I defer to your more positive outlook. I am out of here.

    A.
     
  20. nikicampos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #20

    Well that's easier than moving the little pointer to choose the grid spacing, but still I have to go to every folder and do that, then choose "clean up by", either thanks.

    The thing is, this is a very stupid Decision from Apple or if this is a bug, well, hopw they fix it soon, and the I will have to change the grid spacing.. again :/
     
  21. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #21
    This is how Finder worked for as a long I can remember. It works just like this on El Capitan. People used to complain that the OS X Finder was not as good as its counterpart on Mac OS. View settings per folder is something that people wanted. As long as you do not change the view settings granularly for a particular folder, the default should still work.

    I gave you a command to reset this for all of your folders.
     
  22. GrumpyTrucker macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    #22
    Me neither. I can click "use as defaults" all day and it makes no difference at all to any other windows I open. Even killing Finder then letting it restart makes no difference. I've only been a Mac user since around the tail end of Snow Leopard into Lion and as far as I recall it's never worked (reliably). For me. But obviously I must be imagining that, same as you. :)
     
  23. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #23
    These settings are notoriously unreliable for many years. Just try to live with it. It's inconsistent.
     
  24. iwataasks macrumors newbie

    iwataasks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    #24
    thanks very much for solution
     
  25. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #25
    It won't stick for very long, it's really very finnicky.
     

Share This Page