Griffin iTrip Autopilot with iPhone 3G Review

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by sandiway, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. sandiway macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #1
    For those considering the Griffin iTrip Autopilot, you may be interested in my user experience. I used one to charge my iPhone 3G and transmit on FM on a cross-country trip recently.

    Details are here

    http://sandiway.blogspot.com/2008/09/one-thousand-miles-and-griffin-itrip.html

    but a brief summary is that: (1) I like the FM transmitter because it can be programmed to broadcast on a frequency unused, i.e. interference-free. (2) I the charger does not do what it should.

    Sandiway
     
  2. diesel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #2
    Sandi,

    In one of the reviews for the griffin car charger at the app store you will see that someone complained about the charger not providing enough power to the iphone when using the gps. I wonder if there is a car charger out there that will charge an iphone when using gps without the possibility of frying the iphone.
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    Unfortunately the discharge when running gps on an iPhone 3G is a known issue with ALL power adapters; if it is a product defect, then it is a defect with the iPhone drawing more power than the specs allow for charging. So far I don't think there is any solution to this problem.

    On a separate note, did you use the RDS transmitter to send song information to your radio? I would be interested if this function really works, since so many radio stations can't even seem to get it right.

    Also, did you have to set the iPhone into airplane mode to avoid the gsm static?
     
  4. sandiway thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #4
    Thanks for the info about the iPhone 3G power draw. So then it's not Griffin's fault - although I'm surprised they can't boost the power. It should be easy since I sometimes also have a 110V d/c to a/c converter plugged in that can supply quite a few watts in excess of what the iPhone requires.

    Yes, the RDS works fine in USA mode. It displays "iTrip - <then song info>". I used that on 87.7MHz for a while. It doesn't work in Japan mode though.

    GSM static, didn't hear any.

    Sandiway
     
  5. diesel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #5

    hey sandi, you're the MIT professor so you might know more than me on this subject but i would be weary of trying to use a charger that supplies "a few watts in excess of what the iphone requires". The last thing that you want to do is fry your iphone.
     
  6. sandiway thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #6
    It won't happen unless you're overvolting the iphone.

    Imagine what happens when you plug the iPhone usb/ac adapter into household current. You could plug that same adapter into an inverter that's powered by the 12V accessory socket in your car.

    And I suppose the damn iPhone 3G would charge properly even under heavy compute loads.

    The problem is I can't plug that in and the Griffin iTrip connector at the same time. There is of course only one connector on the iPhone.
     
  7. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
  8. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    international mode no longer works

    Hi guys,

    I recently purchased a Griffin iTrip AutoPilot FM transmitter to use my iPhone 3G in my car. I purchased this product because I have read that you can tune below 88.1 (down to 87.7 and 87.9) and enjoy static-free radio (aka the "international mode"). However, after reading exactly how to do this and following the directions to a "T," I was still unable to tune below 88.1. At this point, I contacted Griffin customer service and they told me that they had to remove this feature from units sold with the US due to FCC regulations. Therefore, if you are like me, and you want to purchase this product solely for the international mode (because otherwise it is useless), please DO NOT DO SO - you'll waste your money.

    However, if you can find a nice used one, either off Ebay or Amazon, then this may be a good purchase. Just don't buy a new one.
     
  9. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #9
    Aww that sucks that they removed it, mine is working almost 99% static-free in that mode, I guess best bet is a used one. I got mine off from Best Buy too when they were selling it for only $70 which was really A-okay for me.
     

Share This Page