Grouping your contacts?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Rock star poser, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. Rock star poser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #1
    Can you group your contacts on the iphone, if so please tell me how it can be done.
     
  2. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    no you cant

    i have them all grouped in 'Address Book' eg family, work etc

    but the grouping disappears as soon as you sync with the iPhone - has been that way since day 1

    if you really need it, there are some third party apps on Cydia
     
  3. Rock star poser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #3
    its annoying as im using my favorites on my iphone, as i would prefer to group them as i used to on my nokia, but i might just take your advice and look at third party applications to solve it.

    thanks though:)
     
  4. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    mine stay grouped when i sync them with my phone, contacts just appear all grouped together, or you can choose to view specific groups
     
  5. woahitsreeo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Using Address Book on the Mac I grouped my contacts and they sync just fine with the phone. The iPhone gives you the option to view numbers in a particular group or all the numbers collected together that are both grouped and ungrouped.
     
  6. Rock star poser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
  7. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I am using groups, I do have MobileMe, not sure if that makes a difference

    In my address book on my mac I create the group and copy the people into it

    on the phone address book i click at the top where it says groups, this then shows al the groups

    I beleive it does not work with smart groups, tried it once and it didnt work
     
  8. watergun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
  9. StingerT125 macrumors 6502a

    StingerT125

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Dutchess County New York
    #9
    This is the same for me; my contact groups from my mac are on my iPhone. I am using MobileMe also.
     
  10. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    same, although i'm only using itunes sync, not mobileme
     
  11. woahitsreeo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    Don't have mobile me, just syncing normally with iTunes. In iTunes when I have my iPhone connected I have the Sync Address Book contacts checked and All contacts selected.
     

Share This Page