All iPads Growing Gap Between Air and Mini

Discussion in 'iPad' started by quamsi, Oct 26, 2014.

1. quamsi macrumors regular

Forgive me if this post is redundant. I feel I need to get this out, so please bear with me.

A year ago I decided to switch from Android to Apple. Like so many others here, I agonized over the newly released Air and the rMini. Aside from the gamut issue, the only real deciding factor was based on size. I started out with the Air, but within a few weeks replaced it with a rMini. I am a self-employed professional and the tablet was intended for both home and secular tasks. In the end the rMini was the perfect fit as it became apparent how important the added portability was. I gave Apple kudos for meeting all my needs without sacrificing quality. And the childish part of me was satisfied with not feeling my device was somehow inferior from those around me wielding their Airs. For a year I was a happy Apple convert and was looking forward to a lasting relationship with this brand.

My disappointment was palpable when I learned that going forward, Apple would put me in the frustrating position of making a decision based on convenience versus innovation. In stunting the Mini in order to place the Air alone in the premium category, Apple decided that those seeking smaller tablets were not seeking innovation. Mini buyers were wrongly assumed to be solely the budget conscious or parents buying for children. This error puts many people, including many professionals, in the uncomfortable decision of even continuing with this brand for future purchases. Added to that, many long-time customers have hundreds if not thousands of dollars invested into Apple's environment making the move near impossible.