GS4 with stock Android

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by paulsalter, May 15, 2013.

  1. paulsalter, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 18, 2013

    paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
  2. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Since Samsung has made a new Nexus devices and the Nexus 4 is getting on a bit these days it wouldn't surprise me. It'd be very tempting for sure.
     
  3. Krimsonmyst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3
    I already have a GS4, but I would flash this as SOON as it become available on the condition that it keeps the camera features of TouchWiz.

    While I love the smoothness of vanilla Android, the camera on TouchWiz is so much better it's stupid.
     
  4. Jibbajabba macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #4
    What I'd hate is losing the ability of connecting the HDMI adapter, which seems to be the case with most roms (unless they are touchwiz based).
     
  5. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    So if this rumor is true, would it actually be like the nexus device and get updates? If so, then I would be all over it; However, if it was still subject to the carriers and manufactures for updates I would pass.
     
  6. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    I imagine it'd be sold through the Play Store unlocked if it's a "Google Edition." And, well, it's a Google phone. So it should get updates straight from Google.
     
  7. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #7
    That would be nuts. I would pay $599 for "that" phone!
     
  8. MRU, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1582477

    Wont happen, and if does it wont be a 'galaxy S4'. Like I say - doing so would invalidate any reason for the Nexus brand.

    Also further reflection, can you imagine the headaches of retail / carrier stores if they were to sell two S4's with different OS's. It would just be confusing for the customer, unless they decide it can only be ordered via the play store.
     
  9. JaySoul macrumors 68020

    JaySoul

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #9
    Very interesting rumour - Samsung have clearly been stung by the lukewarm reception to their "bloatware" and such.

    Although I'd agree about the camera issue, I'd be VERY keen on this - glad I've waited thus far... Let's see!
     
  10. paulsalter thread starter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    oops hadn't seen another thread talking about this

    I agree about confusion

    If this came out there might be no reason for the Nexus brand, but does this affect Google much, they are still getting a pure Android device on the market (If Samsung pure Android sells more than the Nexus brand is this better? would a closer Google/Samsung device like this make more money for Google)

    Could cause confusion in stores, but they could be trying this to see how the market takes to it (Samsung might be seeing how this works before bringing out their own OS)

    IMO, if it's Play store only it won't sell that well

    Interesting to read, hopefully hear soon if it is just a rumour
     
  11. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    If this does happen it'll be limited production for a Play Store only release IMO.
     
  12. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #12
    I would think that the google version would only be available through the play store. That means that most customers would not even know about it
     
  13. paulsalter thread starter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
  14. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    The link in the OP says it will work on T-Mobile's bands. I take that to mean it won't work properly with 3G and 4G on AT&T and whatever other GSM networks you have over in the US? I know they all use different bands.
     
  15. paulsalter thread starter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    My knowledge of how the US mobile networks operate is very limited

    I was assuming it was similar to T-Mobile in the UK, just another operator
     
  16. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #16
    We're lucky in the UK. Trust me, the US is terrible with their phone situation. Everything runs on different frequencies, nothing is compatible with each other, some are CDMA so they don't even take SIM cards, and data costs a billion zillion dollars a month and it's still not unlimited :p
     
  17. Tig Bitties macrumors 68020

    Tig Bitties

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #17
    If this is true, you don't need to actually by this "Google Edition", I am sure a ported ROM will be made available rather quickly for the regular S4's.

    But I would still like to see this released, is good to spread the Vanilla Android love around to the masses.
     
  18. JaySoul macrumors 68020

    JaySoul

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #18
    Amen to that!! :D
     
  19. 0dev, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #19
    Three FTW! Can't wait until I get my free update to unlimited LTE on their network :D

    Just to gloat a little to our American friends, here's my data usage for the past four months (when I last restored the phone fresh):

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Tig Bitties macrumors 68020

    Tig Bitties

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #20
    Yes sir, it is a raping and hostage situation here with the U.S. phone carriers.

    ****king "Text" plan for $20/Month :rolleyes: Just to get unlimited texts the carriers charge an extra fee for that, beyond the minutes and data fee plans.

    And I love the word "Unlimited" LOL, unlimited with an * next to it at bottom of the contract, saying data limits of 2GB/Month, or some BS.
     
  21. skratch77 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #21

    A lot of us american friends are grandfatherd into unlimited 4g plans and have unlimited 4g that is faster then your home internet lol.

    We have 5 lines with 4 of them unlimited on our family plan and pay 250 a month for all of them.

    I did 17gb last billing cycle and don't have any throttling on my Verizon unlimited plan
     
  22. 0dev, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #22
    Yeah but you have to do all these hacks just to keep your grandfathered plans. You can walk into any shop here and walk out with unlimited data, unlimited texts, and a few hundred minutes for £15 a month, and that's just for prepaid.

    And DC-HSPDA on Three (that's out right now) has speeds of 30Mbps in some places, while the LTE network that's coming in just a few months will have over 60Mbps, and it will be using the exact same cheap plans as the 3G network.
     
  23. skratch77 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #23
    What hacks do we have to do? We can either pay full price for the phone and swap our old dim into it or transfer an upgrade to a line that is on a 2gb plan and then upgrade that line to get the phone subsidised like I just did to get my gs4 ordered.

    I had an upgrade and moved my upgrade to my fathers line that is a 2gb line and he will just give me the phone when it comes in.how is that a hack?

    I hit over 50mb on my lte here also
     
  24. jrswizzle macrumors 603

    jrswizzle

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #24
    Where are you located Odev? I'll be headed to Italy next weekend and am trying to figure out the best prepaid option for my Nexus 4. Heard 3 was one of the best.
     
  25. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #25
    That sounds like a hack to me man...

    Right now we have EE with LTE speeds of up to 120Mbps. There are people already getting 60Mbps on LTE in some places. On DC-HSPDA people are getting 30Mbps.

    I underestimated the speeds in that last post, I'll go edit it now...
     

Share This Page