Gs6 on t mobile gets 5.1.1 update!

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by grkm3, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. grkm3, Jun 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015

    grkm3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #1
    Man t mobile is lightning fast on getting updates to end users.

    Firmware build date is only 4 days old and it's already on people phones!

    Hopefully it fixes the bugs but I think we need one more patch before we get it perfect.

    Anyone get it yet?

    Just to give you an idea on how fast this push was.

    The nexus devices got this update June 12 and that is the build date on the gs6 rom.

    This also proves that samsung is lightning fast on getting the update ready and is all on the carriers to push it to devices.

    Verizon will wait 5 weeks before it pushes it out
     
  2. mel823 macrumors 6502

    mel823

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Downloading something that's 630MB right now.
     
  3. grkm3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #3
    That's it you luck man

    If you are rooted I can tell you how to eliminate app re draw.

    I can run about 10 apps on my modded build prop gs6
     
  4. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #4
    What news to come back from my travels! Yes. Can't wait to download.
     
  5. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #5
    Can't be downloaded unless on a WiFi networks? Just like on the iPhone. What is this horse manure?

    Some things of apple should not be copied. Ugh. I have no mobile data limit. They should allow me to update over network if I choose to. A warning of overages? Sure. But forcing me to use WiFi? Not cool.
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    I think they are scared some folks with small data caps will download it and rack up a massive phone bill for excess data.
     
  7. mel823 macrumors 6502

    mel823

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Just finished updating. It's 5.1.1. Optimizing all those apps takes the most amount of time.
     
  8. Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #8
    Doesn't work that way on T-Mobile. There are no overage charges. Once you reach your paid data cap, they simply throttle your data to 3G speeds.
     
  9. Sevanw macrumors 6502a

    Sevanw

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Wow, not like that here. Go over your cap and your charged a ridiculous amount per megabyte over. People have racked up bills into hundreds and have heard thousands especially when mix in European roaming into mix.
     
  11. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #11
    Big yes to ability to remove s finder and quick connect from the pull down menu.
     
  12. Vegastouch, Jun 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015

    Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12

    Downloading it now. Pretty big, 631 MB's.

    As for the Nexus devices, my Wifes Nexus 7 has been updated to 5.1.1 for a while now and her Nexus 5 got this update at least two weeks ago,. But i sure didnt expect this for the GS6 this fast.
     
  13. Vegastouch, Jun 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015

    Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    Yeah that would suck. Hec i think it sucks that they slow it down, lol. However, you can update this on wifi and it shouldnt matter how small your cap is.
     
  14. grkm3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #14
    It's weird samsung completely skipped 5.1 and went from 5.02 straight to the latest Android firmware.it's about 2 weeks behind the pure bread Nexus but it skipped a whole update!

    I'm betting samsung said 5.1 was to buggy and just waited for official 5.1.1
     
  15. grkm3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #15
    Is the t mobile gs6 is boot loader unlocked? If it's the CDMA can someone put a verizon SIM in it and see if it works?
     
  16. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    I dont see any obvious changes but the phone does seem a little snappier.
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Any improvement in standby ram usage ?
     
  18. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #18
    Not really seeing big changes in performance either after update.

    I don't think it fixed the ram issue... Is there any evidence?
     
  19. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    No... Just wishful thinking on my part I guess.
     
  20. grkm3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #20
    Is your phone rooted?

    You can go to system folder and find the build prop file and edit a few things in there.

    Add this at the bottom and delete the old scrips and the phone will keep 12 apps in memory and rip anything apart you throw at it.

    ro.config.dha_cached_max=16
    ro.config.dha_cached_min=8
    ro.config.dha_empty_max=36
    ro.config.dha_empty_min=8
    ro.config.dha_empty_init=36
    ro.config.dha_lmk_scale=0.545
    ro.config.dha_th_rate=1.4
    ro.config.sdha_apps_bg_max=70
    ro.config.sdha_apps_bg_min=8
    ro.config.dha_ils_enable=true
    ro.config.dha_ils_dyna_lmk=true
    ro.config.dha_ils_rate=1.4
     
  21. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    Really? If this is true, does that mean Samsung is actively artificially limiting how many apps are kept in memory via software then ?
     
  22. grkm3, Jun 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015

    grkm3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #22
    I can run 11-12 apps now even after phone goes to deep sleep without reloading with these changes.

    I know why they are doing it.apps like facbook,chrome,instantgram etc can store massive amounts of cache and eat up ram while using them.I've seen chrome eat up 500mb of cached ram and samsung figures users will power use a few apps at a time and not purposely loaf up 15 apps to see refreshing.

    It saves people a crap load of mobile data to store Facebook and instantgram in ram and not reload those images after re scrolling them.I've noticed a family members data go up about 15gb a month just from leaving a note 3 and switching to an iPhone 6 plus.thank God we are on unlimited data but my brothers data skyrocketed going to ios and using the same apps.
     
  23. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #23
    I dont know, i never checked the ram usage before the update.
     
  24. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #24
    Good short explanation on the noticeable differences.

     
  25. nviz22 macrumors 68040

    nviz22

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #25
    Reading about the update online makes me feel great that I ditched my S6 Edge because all the problems compound into sh*t hitting the fan.
     

Share This Page