iPhone SE GSM CDMA Confiusion

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by theIdance, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. theIdance macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    #1
    I have an iPhone SE ( A1723) and an iPhone 5s (A1530) I both bought them in Asia and will need to use them both in US for a few weeks.

    I'm confused as with SIM card provider I should get since one seems to be GSM and the other CDMA

    Does it still matter? Anyone has experience with this?

    Each provider seems to be either GSM or CDMA but not both.

    What is the easiest way of going about this?

    Thanks guys,
    Ben
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    Are you sure the 5s is CDMA? The data I have read on the A1530 would seem to indicate that it is used only in SE Asia and Australia, New Zealand. Also it appears to be GSM. I don't know about SE A1723 but I would wait until you arrive in the States before getting SIM cards for either phone.
     
  3. Joe h macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    #3
    The 5s has to be on a gsm network, preferably AT&T or a prepaid company piggy backing off at&t.

    The se can be on any network.
     
  4. theIdance thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    #4
    But the SE seems to be CDMA so a GSM sim won't work on that right?
     
  5. Joe h macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    #5
    Doesn’t matter with the se, since it should work with every frequency except two of t mobiles.
     
  6. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #6
    Why do you think the SE "seems to be CDMA"? All indications are it that it will operate on GSM networks here in the US. As reported, there may be some frequencies that it won't support (such as those from T-Mobile).
     
  7. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    I suspect he saw in some specs that it has CDMA support. Which, on the SE, does not prevent it from being used on GSM/LTE as long as it isn't locked.
     

Share This Page