GT120 blacklisted by Photoshop. What options?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iHateMacs, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #1
    Hi

    I have a Mac Pro early 2009 with a GT120 graphics card.

    When Adobe released a Photoshop CC update that included perspective warp I was very excited.

    My excitement turned to frustration as I discovered they GT120 graphics card has been blacklisted by Adobe as it had issues and this new feature is disabled.

    I really don't want to spend too much money on upgrading this old machine as I may decide to stretch to a new Pro or an iMac in the next 12 months.

    The cheapest card available from Apple is over £700 !

    What other options are there to get a card that will work with the new featured of Photoshop CC?
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    What is the minimum required card now?

    Have you looked on ebay or amazon?
     
  3. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #3
    The GT120 meets the requirements but apparently there is a bug in it so Photoshop disables certain acceleration and one of the side effects is, the new perspective warp can't be used.
     
  4. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #4
    Card is 5+ years old. Update the card or machine.
     
  5. whwang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #5
    I am also interested to know possible options. Mine is MacPro5,1 with ATI 5770. When I tried various sharpening and blurring filters in Photoshop CC, with and without enabling graphic card acceleration, I did not find any difference in speed. Does this mean even the 5770 is too slow?
     
  6. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #6
    It can't be used in cpu mode? If they spent much time writing the cpu version, it should at least be tolerable on that hardware. Also there should be cheaper cards. You could just go with a 5770 or something like that. There are also after market cards which may be supported.

    I left this window open a while before writing the reply. Now it looks silly with your comment above:D. The 5770 should work. If it doesn't, post on Adobe's forums. It definitely meets their recommendations.
     
  7. gpzjock, Feb 21, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014

    gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #7
    Most new Nvidia will work.

    Most modern Nvidia cards are Mac Pro compatible out of the box if you are running Mountain Lion or Mavericks.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/MSI-Nvidia-DDR5-PCI-E-Graphics/dp/B00DMUN4JO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393051809&sr=8-1&keywords=GTX760 GTX 760 £177.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/GeForce-DirectCU-Graphics-Express-Surround/dp/B00D7SC3O8/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1393051869&sr=8-4&keywords=GTX+660 GTX 660 £129.

    Both are bargains but no bootscreen. GT120 cards were rubbish 5 years ago, now you may as well be running with a packet of digestive biscuits in your PCI slot....

    http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+GT+120&id=1402 310pts in Passmark.

    http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+GTX+760&id=2561 4994 pts

    http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+GTX+660&id=2152 4114 pts

    You could keep the GT120 for when you need a bootscreen.

    This is Adobe's advice on Photoshop compatibility: http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cs6-gpu-faq.html
     
  8. whwang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #8
    I feel I am stupid. :( I just realize not all sharpening tools are capable of using GPUs. Now I pick smart sharpen and run it again. With GPU acceleration, the calculation time reduces to 1/3 of original. So it indeed works. Now instead of getting a new card, I think I just wait for Adobe to put GPU support to more filters.
     
  9. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    Go nMP... Here's what you can probably expect in terms of improvement... (Based on my own experience coming from a 2009 with Gt120)...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1692536
     
  10. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #10
    Misconceptions regarding what is and isn't gpu accelerated are extremely common. As for updating old filters. it will probably happen at some point. Adobe has a lot of baggage, which is part of the problem. They have a bunch of tools that fill the same role with slightly different results, so sometimes older ones go without updates. Most of the new ones are written to take advantage of the gpu. The reason I say not to stress on the gpu too much is that for most things the vast majority of current generation graphics hardware is fine. When we're talking about simple stuff like photoshop, the advantage to being processed by the gpu really is that any that support the necessary frameworks will run the code faster than the cpu.
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    IIRC hasn't the GT120 also dropped off the CUDA driver support list when the last Nvidia driver came out?
     
  12. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #12
    Do you mean that if I want to boot into Target mode or choose a different boot drive I would not be able to see anything on screen at that point?
     
  13. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #13
    You don't need a bootscreen for target mode - just press and hold T.

    Ditto for changing the boot drive - use > System Settings > Startup Disk.
     

Share This Page